Sauerbraten V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Great recipe. I marinated for 72hrs as tradition states, used less sour cram as was suggested, and added carrots & potatoes the last hour for a complete meal. Entire family impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe as written. My dad loved it, my fussy daughter hated it. I thought it was pretty good, but I've never even had it before. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was good. But if I were to make it again I would cut the sour cream in 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Easy and tastes just right. Excellent with potato dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I followed a few others marinating it for 3 days then cooking in a slow cooker for 8 hours. The meat shrunk drastically, but it was all still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was good. I marinated the roast in the fridge for about 30 hours. I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 8 hours. It came out tender. I did not make the sour cream gravy. I think next time I will make it too and try it with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I think I liked it better without the sourcream. But hte sourcream would be awesome if you are having this meat with plain potatoes. It doesn't taste bad, it is just that without the sourcream it was more of my kind of dish. I marinated it for 24 hours but next time I will do as Germans do, 2 to 3 days. The meat came out super tender we cut it with a fork. I will do this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was my first experience with making sauerbraten....what a winner. I loved the flavor and was super tender. Even my father-in-law, who is a very picky eater, liked it. I did marinate if for 36 hours. Now that I gave this recipe a very deservedly wonderful review, I should note that I used a pork roast vs a rump roast…I didn't realize until the roast was thawed that I pulled the wrong roast from the freezer. Just can’t wait until I try this with beef !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I make mine something like this but I add ginger snaps to the gravy. It make's a nice thick gravy. I also marinde for at least 3 to 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this was different! the meat was good. i followed the recipe plus a few changes. i marnidated the meat for 3 days (could do less time, flavor was very strong) and used alba sauerbraten seasoning packet (its from germany and its good!) and chopped onion. after meat was done cooking i strained the herbs out of the pot juice, then made sauce. here is why i rated it low, i should have kept it true and simple but i got carried away. i added gingersnaps and sour cream as some others suggested to the sauce, ewww not good. next time i will just thicken the sauce regular with flour. maybe a tiny sour cream, but i don't think its neccesairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States