Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Nice change from the ordinary meatball fare!! I did not pan fry them though, i baked them in the oven at 425 degrees for 15 mins.Then i put the other ingredients in the skillet and added the meatballs.Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
These are *wonderful*!! Thank you! As usual I had to change some ingredients - Italian bread crumbs, fresh ground ginger instead of powder, corn starch instead of flour, and I used ground sirloin. As for preparation, I drained the meatballs after cooking them and while they sat, I mixed up the liquids in a separate bowl, then added them to the hot skillet to remove the tasty "brown bits" from the pan. I had no problems with the thickener. I just substitued equal parts corn starch for flour (I don't like using flour). I did heat up the liquid to boiling after removing the meat - perhaps that was the issue for many reviewers. I knew a "simmered" sauce wouldn't thicken - this did right away. It's a *perfect* mix of sweet, spicy, and sour! I served this over spatzle noodles with [frozen] sauerkraut on the side - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
YUM! My changes: Step 2. Instead of just draining the fat, I moved the meatballs to a cookie sheet lined w/ paper towels & blotted them dry. I also wiped all excess oil from the pan. Step 3. I just boiled down the sauce at the end instead of adding flour. Served over store bought spaetzle with red cabbage & saurkraut. Thank you for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Why would you put bread crumbs with Italian seasonings in a German dish? This recipe is awesome and doesn't need tweaked AT ALL! Thank you for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is so delicious and will be my go to recipe for an easy fix when we're craving german food. I made a couple of minor changes I think improved the recipe, adding an egg to the meat/milk mixture. also added a teaspoon of beef base to the liquid mix before thickening the gravy. increased flour to 1/8 cup mixing in 1/2 cup cold water, making a thinner flour mixture to mix with the hot liquid. added chopped fresh parsley for color before serving. the egg gave the meatballs a very tender texture and the beef base enriched the flavor of the gravy. served it all with mashed red potatoes, sweet and sour red cabbage, steamed green beans and applesauce. thanks so much for an easy german food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
We were not impressed with this recipe; the meatballs were much too sweet; maybe if the brown sugar was cut in half it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I usually double the cooking liquid because we like more gravy. Like my Grandmother's sauerbraten recipe, I add 7 whole cloves, 7 whole peppercorn, 7 whole allspice along with the bay leaves to cook and thicken the gravy with finely crushed ginger snaps not the flour.I remove the whole seasonings with a slotted spoon before serving. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Amazing...I impressed my German husband and can't wait to cook this for his mother when she visits us from Germany. My husband was a little thrown off at first because it was made with ground beef but once he tried it, he said it was "impressing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmommymel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I doubled the sauce, because we like things saucy around here, and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Wonderful recipe. Easy to make and does not take much time once you get the meatballs formed. A nice change from the same old meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States