Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Just like my German grandma used to make. I did as another reviewer suggested and cooked it in all the liquid. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
After years of hearing my husband whine "I miss my mothers sauerbraten...it was so good...old german recipe...." I decided to try a "genuine" sauerbraten recipe. I lived in Germany and hated sauerbraten I always refer to it as 'spoiled meat'. :-x But I decided to give him an old world dinner. HE LOVED IT. HE ATE SO MUCH. He rates this a "10". It was a bit hard to make. turning it every day was a pain but well worth it. It made my husband very happy. What more is there to life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this and my husband and I both liked it a lot, I would recommend it! I served it with some red cabbage and mashed pototoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This is the best recipe for sauerbraten that I have tried. I did make two changes. First I cooked the roast in all of the liquid rather than adding one cup at a time. Secondly, I used more sour cream and added cornstarch to thicken the gravy. Thanks Amy for your recipe. Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
The BEST sauerbraten I have ever had! I didn't have ginger snaps so I used ground ginger. I marinated for 4 days slow cooked this overnight and added a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. I served it with potato dumplings. Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Amy, you are a Goddess! This was the most amazing dish that I have tried in years. Project, no I feel that it was a fun event and I was not disappointed despite the wait. This will be a recipe that I share with other and have to give maximum kudos! P.S. I am not this enthusiastic about many dishes, but thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was really delicious. I marinated in a zip close bag for 4 days, used lots of onion and skipped the rest of the veggies. On Day 5 I put it in the crock pot on low for 8 hrs. When it was done to the point of falling apart, I removed the meat from the pot, and stirred into the leftover juices: 3/4 C crushed gingersnaps, 1/4 C. brown sugar and 1 C. sour cream to create the traditional gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
OK, we haven't officially eaten this yet - it just finished cooking - but I couldn't wait to rate it. I followed other reviewers' advice and after marinating for 4 days, I cooked the roast in the crock pot, with all the liquid. Dinner's not for a few more hours, but I had to try a piece, and oh my goodness! The meat is AMAZING! Very tender and flavorful. Both my husband and I LOVE German food, though I've never tried making sauerbraten before. I was a little nervous, since I'm not that fond of very vinegary foods, but this is the perfect blend of sweet and sour. I'm serving it with red cabbage and potato pancakes. I can't wait. ONE warning to anyone trying this for the first time - this will smell up your whole house! I could even smell it OUTSIDE the house. I'm going to try boiling some vanilla on the stove after dinner to see if that gets rid of the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I'm not a big fan of potted meat of any kind. However, I've made this recipe about 6 times. Each time has been better than the last. I love this recipe. I don't use the sour cream at the end. I thicken it with flour instead. This rivals Sauerbraten in your fancy German restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Sauerbraten. I could eat this on a regular basis and never get bored with it. I have prepared this multiple times for multiple people and it is always a HUGE hit! I highly recommend serving this directly over the top of some very creamy mashed potatoes for a result that will curl your toes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosemaryBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States