Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Sauerbraten. I could eat this on a regular basis and never get bored with it. I have prepared this multiple times for multiple people and it is always a HUGE hit! I highly recommend serving this directly over the top of some very creamy mashed potatoes for a result that will curl your toes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosemaryBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I'm not a big fan of potted meat of any kind. However, I've made this recipe about 6 times. Each time has been better than the last. I love this recipe. I don't use the sour cream at the end. I thicken it with flour instead. This rivals Sauerbraten in your fancy German restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
OK, we haven't officially eaten this yet - it just finished cooking - but I couldn't wait to rate it. I followed other reviewers' advice and after marinating for 4 days, I cooked the roast in the crock pot, with all the liquid. Dinner's not for a few more hours, but I had to try a piece, and oh my goodness! The meat is AMAZING! Very tender and flavorful. Both my husband and I LOVE German food, though I've never tried making sauerbraten before. I was a little nervous, since I'm not that fond of very vinegary foods, but this is the perfect blend of sweet and sour. I'm serving it with red cabbage and potato pancakes. I can't wait. ONE warning to anyone trying this for the first time - this will smell up your whole house! I could even smell it OUTSIDE the house. I'm going to try boiling some vanilla on the stove after dinner to see if that gets rid of the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Just like my German grandma used to make. I did as another reviewer suggested and cooked it in all the liquid. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was really delicious. I marinated in a zip close bag for 4 days, used lots of onion and skipped the rest of the veggies. On Day 5 I put it in the crock pot on low for 8 hrs. When it was done to the point of falling apart, I removed the meat from the pot, and stirred into the leftover juices: 3/4 C crushed gingersnaps, 1/4 C. brown sugar and 1 C. sour cream to create the traditional gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Not bad. The meat was incredibly tender. Flavour wasn't bad either, but I don't think sauerbraten is my kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Followed directions to a T but this has to be a personal preference in taste. Most people I talked to are not fans of sauerbraten but I was willing to give it a try. The whole family did not like. It does have an unusual flavor that must be acquired. Thanks for giving me a chance to try something so different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
My dad "Otto" and mom "Trudy" are real Germans, born and raised and they approved of this recipe too Amy! Otto considers himself an expert on Sauerbraten, so I was a little nervous about making this for him. He hates when he orders it from a restaurant and they only sour the gravy and not the meat. Well, he went nuts over this fabulous dish!! I did add more seasonings to the marinade but those were the minor changes I made. I was happy to see that there was at least one sauerbraten recipe that called for marinating for five days. In a pinch you could get away with three. Any good German would laugh at anything less. Thanks so much Amy and Dad thanks you too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I used a venison roast otherwise the recipe was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
You, know, pretty good. The meat needed to cook on the stovetop longer at the end to really be fully tender. I think that my grandma's sauerbraten with gingersnap gravy is clouding my judgment on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States