Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! My family could not stop raving about this sauerbraten. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
OMG!!!!!!!!! I made a german feast and this was great!! Imarinaded for 5 day and stuck it all in crock pot and put on low for 8 hours! Did add 3/4 cup ginner snaps and the sour cream. Made wth spaetzel, potato pancakes, red cabbage and rye bread. Better than any German restaurant I havr been to. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband made this for me. He followed the instructions to a "t," and it was just amazing. I did make a gravy, but not using sour cream. Just reduced and then thickened some reserved marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I just put the meat in to marinate yesterday, I doubled the sauce/marinade recipe because I have only three days (decided last minute to make this for New Year's). Everything looked amazing and smelled amazing already, I have no doubts this will be out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Do not half anything. Marinate the meat, brown the meat as stated, put ALL of the marinate (carrots, onions, minus the bay leaves) into a large crock pot, the browned meat and cook on low for 8 hours. To thicken add about 15 crushed ginger snaps and cook for 30 - 40 minutes more. The gravey is the best part of this and is excellent on spaetzle! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I approached this recipe somewhat cautiously due to all the vinegar, but I figured anything that marinated for FIVE DAYS had to have something going for it. Everything worked very well, but it IS for folks that like things on the sour side. This being said, the sugar and spices complimented the acidity very nicely, the sour cream took everything down a notch of two and the result was a very pleasant meal. I also did a venison roast with this recipe, and I do believe I preferred it to the beef! One or two production notes: I substituted 1/2 cup of the water with 1/2 cup white wine (just couldn't resist) and I thickened the liquid a bit with Pillsbury Shake n' Blend flour before stirring in the sour cream. I also marinated the meal without ill effect in large freezer bags which kept the meat more submerged and took up less room in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was soooo good! Thank you so much for the recipe! I did pretty much everything as stated, but only soaked for 4 days, then dumped the lot into the crockpot and cooked it on low all day. I had to use a spatula to get it out, it was so tender. We had a bunch of people over for supper and each and every one said how good it was; some more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Outstanding! Made this recipe for our Oktoberfest party. When coupled with the Red Cabbage recipe, spatelze, and a dunkel beer (my apologies to those who do not imbibe) absolutely fantastic! Made this with an eleven pound piece of top round which I marinated for five days and cooked in a 16 gallon electric roaster with liquid. People who never had sauerbraten were amazed. I was cooking (had brats on the grill, knocks in the steamer, and ribs in the smoker) but still I was surprised that when I took a break and grabbed a plate the sauerbraten was gone! It was a tremendous hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
For all this work and the wait, it just wasn't that good. It wasn't bad, just nothing great. I did add some broken up gingersnaps to the liquid and sour cream and made a fantastic gravy. I have other sauerbraten recipes that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This Sauerbraten was excellent! I will definately make it for my German mother without fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States