Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband requested Sauerbraten, (to which I replied Sauerwhaten?) like his mom used to make from his great grandma's recipe. The only change I made was to add some crushed ginger snaps the the gravy (around 1/2 cup) and whole ginger snaps over the top while cooking. He loved it and ate it for 3 days straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tastes just like the traditional fare in one of the authentic German restaurants locally. Very time consuming, but oh so worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. I use all of the liquid, but add a little cornstarch to tighten a bit and give the sauce more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We did an Oktoberfest for a company gathering and used this recipe - went over extremely well. I did not add the carrots or celery since we had other "veggies" we were doing. The client was very impressed. Easy recipe and good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryellen Becker Scheel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
The meat itself tastes great. Everything else is like vinegar solidified...the gravy tastes like you just poured additional vinegar over everything with a hint of sour cream. My 3 year old and 6 year old are trying to eat it, I won't be surprised if they do not finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbigailR84

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this for three other people and myself. Turned out great. Also had red sweet and sour cabbage, homemade applesauce and german noodles. I think adding the ginger snap cookies and such outlined in the comment section would help out the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Eh - lot of work for just okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this recipe with some alterations after reviewing several other recipes. I actually soaked my recipe for 5 days with some cider vinegar, some homemade raspberry vinegar and some homemade red wine vinegar combined. I also added a grated apple for the cider taste while in the marinade (plastic zip bag). I fixed with potatoes & potato dumplings for variety..it was great. ** The added variety of vinegars were done because I was too lazy to go to the store and get additional cider vinegar to make the needed amt, so I combined to have 2 cups. ** It was delicious & worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My B/F's mother was 100% german. He kept talking about how good her's sauerbraten was when he was growing up. I wanted to suprise him with a German Dinner. I made this for him and he loved it. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I am German, and I did this for my friends for our baptism party, everyone loved it and so did I Thank you for sharing, I did this the first time from scratch and it was easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States