Saucy Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe! The closest I could find to my grandma's! All the other recipes I've found call for cooking the rice first, or cooking the beef first.... HOGWASH! This recipe is the way to go ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick shary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very good! Going on our regular dinner menus. Easy to make and totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
So much like my grandma's recipe! I didn't change a thing! So awesome the way it is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were really good. I sliced the peppers in half long ways and laid them flat in a casserole dish and covered with the sauce. Took about 1-1 1/2 cook time in the oven. My husband says this was the best stuff pepper he's ever had, and he doesn't even like stuff peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Being from the Czech Republic and graduating from Cordon Bleu, I had to find a middle ground between what I was taught and going back to my mother/grandmother's teaching. For this dish, I prepared the peppers by parcooking them in boiling salted water for about 5 minutes to soften them and cutting down on cooking time. I added tomato paste mixed with Mexican oregano to taste, which will wake a bland dish up quickly. Also I chose to use ground lamb and add a 1/4 cup of red semi sweet wine to my mixture while it is cooking and before placing in it in the peppers, it just adds a flair to the flavor. Then putting the tomato paste, oregano mix, on top of the peppers to cook, gives a blend of togetherness in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Savannah LaMae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My family was very impressed with this recipe. Even my kids who claim to dislike peppers cleaned their plates. I'm not a fan of green peppers so I used yellow. I did not pre cook the onions before adding them to the mix. I used quick-cook 15 minute rice.I followed the recomendation of one reviewer and substituted ground pork for the beef. Everything cooked evenly. Served with mashed potatoes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Great basic recipe. I always have to make recipes my own so I added to the meat; a great no salt seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, worcestershire sauce, and 1/2 cup of pureed tomatoes from a can. I used all red peppers, piled the meat high but leave room in pepper for meat to cook. I add the rest of the large can of pureed tomatoes over the peppers to cover, plus I add one large can of petite diced tomatoes and a bit of water; maybe 3/4 cup. Top peppers with mozzarella and melt just before serving. I serve each pepper on a bed of rice pilaf with the juice over the rice. So... so... good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharene-Iowa Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
d-lish! dont bother cooking the veggied first. I topped the peppers with olive oil and a can of spicy tomatoes with garlic. uuuummmm... getting hungry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe. It is so much like what my mother made for use regularly when I was a little girl. It is a great meal on a cold evening. I prepped it the night before and my husband put it on to cook when he got home from work. We topped it with sour cream. YUM The only change I wil make in the futute it to replace the tomato juice with sauce to create a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
[UPDATE] I follow this recipe exactly as written almost everytime using Uncle Ben's Converted Rice and have never had any issues with the rice being crunchy on top and mushy on the bottom. The only thing I have done differently is twice I used a little V-8 with the tomato juice (I wanted to finish an opened bottle of V-8). My suggestion for those who have had rice issues is to make sure your peppers are wedged into a single layer in your pot OR weigh them down with a plate or steemer basket so that there is at least 2" of sauce covering them. When I "stir" them, I am usually just making sure they are still covered and sometimes move them around the pot like a carousel. My extended family asks me to make these several times a year for our monthly Sunday dinners and they bring large empty yogurt containers to take any home that survive dinner. All generations of my extended family have been eating stuffed peppers their entire lives and without exception, they believe these are the best they have ever had. I have been asked for this recipe so many times that I have it saved on my computers at work and home so I can forward it upon request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States