Saucy Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
First, let me point out: this is not Italian food. If you are tempted to add garlic, basil, oregano, parmesan cheese, hot pepper or spaghetti sauce, then you don't understand what this is and you may well be disappointed. Find a meatball recipe instead. Also, if you are loathe to add salt when you are cooking, then you also will likely be disappointed. With salt as the main seasoning, you need to add a good amount. I used salted butter and then added almost 1.5 teaspoons of salt and a scant half teaspoon of pepper. I made it exactly as described, except I added about half a cup of water to the meat mixture because I like a softer consistency. I used converted rice. It was fantastic. Served it over mashed potatoes...great on a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe! The closest I could find to my grandma's! All the other recipes I've found call for cooking the rice first, or cooking the beef first.... HOGWASH! This recipe is the way to go ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick shary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very good! Going on our regular dinner menus. Easy to make and totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
So much like my grandma's recipe! I didn't change a thing! So awesome the way it is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were really good. I sliced the peppers in half long ways and laid them flat in a casserole dish and covered with the sauce. Took about 1-1 1/2 cook time in the oven. My husband says this was the best stuff pepper he's ever had, and he doesn't even like stuff peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Being from the Czech Republic and graduating from Cordon Bleu, I had to find a middle ground between what I was taught and going back to my mother/grandmother's teaching. For this dish, I prepared the peppers by parcooking them in boiling salted water for about 5 minutes to soften them and cutting down on cooking time. I added tomato paste mixed with Mexican oregano to taste, which will wake a bland dish up quickly. Also I chose to use ground lamb and add a 1/4 cup of red semi sweet wine to my mixture while it is cooking and before placing in it in the peppers, it just adds a flair to the flavor. Then putting the tomato paste, oregano mix, on top of the peppers to cook, gives a blend of togetherness in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Savannah LaMae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My family was very impressed with this recipe. Even my kids who claim to dislike peppers cleaned their plates. I'm not a fan of green peppers so I used yellow. I did not pre cook the onions before adding them to the mix. I used quick-cook 15 minute rice.I followed the recomendation of one reviewer and substituted ground pork for the beef. Everything cooked evenly. Served with mashed potatoes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Great basic recipe. I always have to make recipes my own so I added to the meat; a great no salt seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, worcestershire sauce, and 1/2 cup of pureed tomatoes from a can. I used all red peppers, piled the meat high but leave room in pepper for meat to cook. I add the rest of the large can of pureed tomatoes over the peppers to cover, plus I add one large can of petite diced tomatoes and a bit of water; maybe 3/4 cup. Top peppers with mozzarella and melt just before serving. I serve each pepper on a bed of rice pilaf with the juice over the rice. So... so... good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharene-Iowa Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
d-lish! dont bother cooking the veggied first. I topped the peppers with olive oil and a can of spicy tomatoes with garlic. uuuummmm... getting hungry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe. It is so much like what my mother made for use regularly when I was a little girl. It is a great meal on a cold evening. I prepped it the night before and my husband put it on to cook when he got home from work. We topped it with sour cream. YUM The only change I wil make in the futute it to replace the tomato juice with sauce to create a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States