Saucy Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Everyone in my family enjoyed these, even my kids. The only changes I made were using a can of lima beans and a small can of evaporated milk in place of the cream. I used a very small amount of dried dill since I didn't want it to be too strong, and that pinch added a very nice flavor. I let this simmer for a half hour while I made the rest of dinner and it turned out creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I'm giving this five stars even though I have no idea how it tastes! I'm congested and can't taste anything, however, my seven-year-old who swears that he hates limas, said this was good and ate most of the limas that I put on his plate! That's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was fantastic. My kids now ask for these lima beans every week. I substituted a couple cloves of garlic for the onion, and used heavy cream instead of half and half. The dill absolutely makes this dish. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Lima beans aren't my favorite bean, but this was a nice recipe. Everyone took seconds! I forgot the dill, but will definitely use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This dish was very tasty. I love all beans, but I have not had lima beans since my childhood, hated the way they tasted when my mother cook them. didn't have half and half in the frig. so I used Cacique Crema Mexicana. Um Um good. Served them with bake Chicken and brown rice. Excellent. P.S. I omitted the Dill, l put in chicken both instead,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We loved these! Will definitely be making again. My picky 2-year old gobbled them up. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keosauqua, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Really great lima beans. Having a 16oz. bag, I upped all the ingredients. Used evaporated milk in place of the half&half and added a little extra, omitting the reserved cooking liquid. Tasted wonderful. Next time, depending on what I'm serving it with, I think a little bacon added in might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
So Yummy! Instead of using really fattening 1/2 & 1/2 I put a couple tablespoons of flour in with the melted butter and let that get a nice nutty brown, then added 1 cup of fat free milk. I sort of thought about using basil instead but I'm glad I used the dill weed! It was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were great. I didnt measure my onion, just chopped some up. Also, I omitted the dill because we dont care for it. Delicious! I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was really good, but I think fewer onions might be advised. I had dried onions and maybe 1 TB at the most. I also used heavy cream. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States