Saucy Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a simple and VERY delicious dish. I had the same idea as another poster to fix them in the crock pot. So thats what I did! I browned the chops in a pan after coating them with a mixture of flour, garlic powder, and mustard powder. I put the browned chops in the crock pot then covered them with the sauce. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. VERY DELICIOUS! The beauty of doing it this way is you can cook alot of chops! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great Company Dinner Main course recipe. A twist on the usual fried pork chops with a creamy sauce good enough to serve over rice and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is a really good meal. I made this for my family of 5 and they really liked it. The ingredients are something I usually always have on hand, and it's simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Sorry, but this recipe just did not cut it - the sauce was more like a thick paste - It needs to be thinned, and the ketchup taste was overwhelming. No one in my family of 4 really liked it. I followed the recipe to the letter, although I'm usually one of those cooks that just "wing it", not using ketchup normally in anything I cook I decided to be exact :-) It just tasted like a cafeteria meal, which was sort of disappointing after all those rave reviews....I would leave out the ketchup, add a bit of sherry and some chicken stock to thin the sauce, garlic, pepper, parsley, some thinly sliced red/green pepper along with the onions, and then I think you might have a winner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe for dinner last night. My mom and my boyfriend both liked it. It's a very different flavor and it was nice for a change. Dont be afraid of the odd mix of ingredients. It makes a wonderful sauce that goes great with pork.I'm using the leftover sauce as a basting sauce for some grilled pork tonight.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
OH MAN!!! My mama used to make this recipe for me when I was a little girl. It's from either Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, or Betty Crocker's cookbook... I can't remember which, but it's a very old-school recipe with a red and white plaid cover on the book. Anywhoo, this was a favorite of mine growing up and I searched for it because I was craving it and wanted to make it for my guy. I was so happy to see it here! I made the following tweaks: 1) Doubled the sauce portion of the recipe; 2) Used Healthy Request Reduced Fat/Sodium Cream of Chicken AND Cream of Mushroom to cut down on calories/fat/greasiness; 3) Used 6 tablespoons of Lea & Perrins THICK recipe Worcestershire sauce; 4) A few heavy-handed dashes of TAPATIO hot sauce -- yes, I'm serious!; 5) A generous pour from a bottle of Merlot I was drinking when I mad this dinner; and 6) Seasoned the chops with salt, pepper & garlic powder and let rest for 7 minutes before browning. IT WAS AWESOME!!!! Zingy, tangy, savory... tender and comforting, just as I remembered this recipe to be. If you're debating on making this, don't! Try it out.... the sauce is killer and is great over mashed potatoes. I served it with a side of asparagus I marinated in olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, and sea salt/pepper. My boyfriend loved it and I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow. BUEN PROVECHO! Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Family and I enjoyed this new recipe. A new change of pace for tender pork chops. I actually double the sauce, since we use it over mashed potatos with our chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
What a great recipe! It had a very unique taste, which I loved. The meat ended up really tender, and the sauce tasted great on potatoes as well. Even my 13-month-old daughter liked it, and she can be picky. I'll definately be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
A great little recipe! An unlikely combination of ingredients makes a delicious sauce. I'd like to try it next time in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is awesome recipe that I have used for years. My entire family love it. And very easy to make. P. Blain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States