Saucy Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great Company Dinner Main course recipe. A twist on the usual fried pork chops with a creamy sauce good enough to serve over rice and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a simple and VERY delicious dish. I had the same idea as another poster to fix them in the crock pot. So thats what I did! I browned the chops in a pan after coating them with a mixture of flour, garlic powder, and mustard powder. I put the browned chops in the crock pot then covered them with the sauce. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. VERY DELICIOUS! The beauty of doing it this way is you can cook alot of chops! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is a really good meal. I made this for my family of 5 and they really liked it. The ingredients are something I usually always have on hand, and it's simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Sorry, but this recipe just did not cut it - the sauce was more like a thick paste - It needs to be thinned, and the ketchup taste was overwhelming. No one in my family of 4 really liked it. I followed the recipe to the letter, although I'm usually one of those cooks that just "wing it", not using ketchup normally in anything I cook I decided to be exact :-) It just tasted like a cafeteria meal, which was sort of disappointing after all those rave reviews....I would leave out the ketchup, add a bit of sherry and some chicken stock to thin the sauce, garlic, pepper, parsley, some thinly sliced red/green pepper along with the onions, and then I think you might have a winner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe for dinner last night. My mom and my boyfriend both liked it. It's a very different flavor and it was nice for a change. Dont be afraid of the odd mix of ingredients. It makes a wonderful sauce that goes great with pork.I'm using the leftover sauce as a basting sauce for some grilled pork tonight.Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
What a great recipe! It had a very unique taste, which I loved. The meat ended up really tender, and the sauce tasted great on potatoes as well. Even my 13-month-old daughter liked it, and she can be picky. I'll definately be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
A great little recipe! An unlikely combination of ingredients makes a delicious sauce. I'd like to try it next time in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is awesome recipe that I have used for years. My entire family love it. And very easy to make. P. Blain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
OH MAN!!! My mama used to make this recipe for me when I was a little girl. It's from either Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, or Betty Crocker's cookbook... I can't remember which, but it's a very old-school recipe with a red and white plaid cover on the book. Anywhoo, this was a favorite of mine growing up and I searched for it because I was craving it and wanted to make it for my guy. I was so happy to see it here! I made the following tweaks: 1) Doubled the sauce portion of the recipe; 2) Used Healthy Request Reduced Fat/Sodium Cream of Chicken AND Cream of Mushroom to cut down on calories/fat/greasiness; 3) Used 6 tablespoons of Lea & Perrins THICK recipe Worcestershire sauce; 4) A few heavy-handed dashes of TAPATIO hot sauce -- yes, I'm serious!; 5) A generous pour from a bottle of Merlot I was drinking when I mad this dinner; and 6) Seasoned the chops with salt, pepper & garlic powder and let rest for 7 minutes before browning. IT WAS AWESOME!!!! Zingy, tangy, savory... tender and comforting, just as I remembered this recipe to be. If you're debating on making this, don't! Try it out.... the sauce is killer and is great over mashed potatoes. I served it with a side of asparagus I marinated in olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, and sea salt/pepper. My boyfriend loved it and I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow. BUEN PROVECHO! Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was okay, but we weren't crazy about the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States