Saucy Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great recipe! I took the advice of other raters and cooked it 30 mins covered and 15 mins uncovered to make sure it was done--it came out just right! I added a little extra milk (which I substituted for wine) for a little bit of a thinner sauce which worked out well. Preperation takes about 20 mins, but after that it is easy enough and tastes great! Thanks for the recipe Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was a FANTASTIC version of Cordon Bleu! We love curry, so this dinner was enjoyed by the whole gang. I always double the sauce, no matter what I'm cooking, but I used Golden Mushroom and roasted garlic soups, omitted the salt (soup has enough) added garlic and onion powders and used more curry then called for. I double breaded the chicken and placed them in the fridge for about thirty minutes so the crumbs would adhere better while frying. I also used my Fry Daddy to save on time. I too sauteed my mushrooms and then placed them on top of the casserole. Thanks so much Lois; I only wish there were leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe was OK but I found the Chicken Cordon Bleu II found on this site to be much much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Don't pass this one by! After 15 yrs. of marriage & countless chicken recipes, my husband just declared this the "best thing checken he's ever had." Here's what I did: DOUBLE the sauce. Beforehand, saute fresh, chopped mushrooms & onions in butter. Add this and extra garlic salt, curry, and white pepper to taste. After rolling & frying the chicken in the cheese & proscuittio, place it over cooked angel hair in a 9x13, then cover with sauce. Cook at 300 for 45 minutes. Perfection!!! Trust me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good! I read through the reviews before making, & made some changes. Didn't have any paprika or curry on hand, so I just left out. Used Italian style bread crumbs, roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup, & milk instead of wine. I let the chicken sit for about 1 hours after breading, made for much easier time browning. I added enough sauce to the bottom of the pan to cover, then baked for 1 hour (chicken was on the larger side). Last 5 mins, uncovered and added 1 slice of cheese to each chicken. I tossed egg noodles with remaining sauced and then topped with the chicken. Will make again, everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This has been one of my favorite dishes! One of the best and my family & friends rave about it! Some people dont care for the curry. Tastes great without It's your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Extremely tasty and fairly simple! The whole family loved it. For a better presentation I baked the chicken in a small amount of sauce in a dish sprayed with cooking oil. Then heated the sauce on the stove top and poured over the chicken before serving it and garnished with fresh parsley. Just a simple but cleaner "presentation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I really like this - fancy/easy with simple ingredients. I thought it would be too much with the cream of mushroom soup - I removed this from the sauce ingredients completely - and other modifications included using fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and red wine (all I had on hand) instead of white. I browned the chicken on all sides before putting in the oven, and increased the cooking time to 30 minutes. Turned out really good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made this recipe for the family, and my son said "I have to know how to make this!". The one most important trick is to prepare the chicken with bread crumbs at least 1 hour before browning the chicken. Just make ahead and wrap in plastic, put it in the fridge and let the bread crumbs have time to settle. This makes them stick when browning before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I just realized that I had previously rated the wrong Chicken Cordon Bleu recipe. This is the one I normally use, with a few changes. I leave out the mushrooms and curry powder, and use cream of chicken soup to make the sauce. This is one of my husband's favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States