Saucy Beef and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe . . . my kids are in their early twenties, they and some of their friends loved this recipe. I had them help make it; the neighbor boy across the street was so impressed he asked for the recipe, and then made it with his dad the next day. He said the topping didn’t puff up as much as mine, I told him to add extra flour next time. I added extra flour to mine (1/4c); until the mixture was a little thicker than a standard pancake mix would look like. It would be very easy to play around with the hamburger mixture adding things like black beans, but the only thing I did different was add shredded carrots in place of zucchini. Additionally, did you know that you can substitute white vinegar in place of cream of tartar? It is made from tartaric acid and half neutralized with potassium hydroxide. This process transforms it into a salt. Grapes are the only significant natural source of tartaric acid, and cream of tartar is obtained from sediment produced in the process of making wine. White vinegar or lemon juice, in the ratio of 3 times the amount of cream of tartar called for, will provide the right amount of acid for most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookieman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This is so yummy! I actually followed the recipe exactly after reading the reviews and would not change or add anything! I have a family of 6 (#7 due soon), with a few very picky eaters. All of them were eating 2nds, and onions!! Agree with other reviews, the topping is awesome and worth the time and effort, (my daughter,12, made the topping while I made the rest and it was oven ready quickly!) So worth it and a family pleaser! Definately a keeper! Yum, Yum, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I added shredded carrots and sliced mushrooms to up the vegetable level. I also sliced the zucchini because the grated seemed to disappear when cooked. This was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
The zucchini's optional. It tasted great with or without it. I've made it with ground turkey and it's great that way, too. Also, if the biscuit topping is too thick to spread, just add some more milk. Cook until bisuit topping is cooked through. I hope you enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe and fairly healthy. I didn't bother with the zucchini or the marjoram but did use some cumin and a little paprika. Also, if you're pressed for time try using a jiffy corn muffin mix on top - although the topping in recipe is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My fiance and I found this recipe when we were finishing up school in Fort Worth, TX and so it has the name "Cowtown Casserole" in our household. It's delicious! I made some vegetarian-friendly changes: (1) morningstar farms crumbles cooked with 1/2c water and packet taco seasonings; (2)added sage, garlic powder and greek seasoning along with the marjoram; (3) 3/4c GREEN salsa; (4)added peas and carrots to the corn; (5) as I was worried about the overwhelming amount of tomato-y based ingredients, I opted for a few Tbsps tomato paste and a can of brothy non-tomoato soup (I used Amy's pasta and vegetable) instead of the condensed tomato soup. Finally, the extra ingredients upped the cook time to approx. 40 minutes. The result was a recipe we make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
It was VERY good. Made a lot for my little family so i gave the extra to my neighbors that LOVED IT so it actually fed 9 and everyone loved it. Was weary cause of the manjoram.. but smelled alot like parsley. was very very good would recomend it. Hope you all try it. everyone was very very pleased with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe sounds good on paper, but fails to excite. I doubled the zucchini and onions and kept everything else as is. I might suggest it could be renamed "Ketchupy Pantry Pie". I agree it is good for young picky eaters (due to the sweet tomato-y base).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was just ok for me. Pretty bland, but could be good spiced up a bit. I try to make by the recipe first. Little too much toppping for the amount of stuff. If I make again, will tweak with spices for sure. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weatherdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this as exactly as it was shown. Next time I am skipping the corn, I think it took away from the meal. Also, I covered the dish to bake it and the dough stuck after checking it at 25 minutes. I took off the foil and finished it baking it that way. Next time, I will not cover it at all. Anxious to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States