Saucy Beef and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
we loved it! I added mushrooms just because I had some leftover from my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this as exactly as it was shown. Next time I am skipping the corn, I think it took away from the meal. Also, I covered the dish to bake it and the dough stuck after checking it at 25 minutes. I took off the foil and finished it baking it that way. Next time, I will not cover it at all. Anxious to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I left out the zucchini because it didn't look good at the market and the original poster said it is good with or without. Without thinking I added the entire teaspoon of salt to the meat mixture which was a mistake since there wasn't as much filling. So it was a little salty. I usually don't care for savory recipes with biscuit or pastry topping but I liked this because the topping did not seem soggy at all. And the filling stayed moist without being runny. good addition to my weeknight dinner rotation. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe . . . my kids are in their early twenties, they and some of their friends loved this recipe. I had them help make it; the neighbor boy across the street was so impressed he asked for the recipe, and then made it with his dad the next day. He said the topping didn’t puff up as much as mine, I told him to add extra flour next time. I added extra flour to mine (1/4c); until the mixture was a little thicker than a standard pancake mix would look like. It would be very easy to play around with the hamburger mixture adding things like black beans, but the only thing I did different was add shredded carrots in place of zucchini. Additionally, did you know that you can substitute white vinegar in place of cream of tartar? It is made from tartaric acid and half neutralized with potassium hydroxide. This process transforms it into a salt. Grapes are the only significant natural source of tartaric acid, and cream of tartar is obtained from sediment produced in the process of making wine. White vinegar or lemon juice, in the ratio of 3 times the amount of cream of tartar called for, will provide the right amount of acid for most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookieman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
My family really liked this recipe. The spices give the meat a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
We loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very good recipe, all 3 children loved it. They loved the "muffin" top. I also added a little extra milk to the topping. I also have used different cheeses such as a mexican one to spice it up abit. Old cheese also makes it tastier. I also add a mix of beans for hidden fibre for my family. I have made this many times now and it has been great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
very tasty, I added more milk to thickenthe crub mixtureons checked doneness with toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My fiance and I found this recipe when we were finishing up school in Fort Worth, TX and so it has the name "Cowtown Casserole" in our household. It's delicious! I made some vegetarian-friendly changes: (1) morningstar farms crumbles cooked with 1/2c water and packet taco seasonings; (2)added sage, garlic powder and greek seasoning along with the marjoram; (3) 3/4c GREEN salsa; (4)added peas and carrots to the corn; (5) as I was worried about the overwhelming amount of tomato-y based ingredients, I opted for a few Tbsps tomato paste and a can of brothy non-tomoato soup (I used Amy's pasta and vegetable) instead of the condensed tomato soup. Finally, the extra ingredients upped the cook time to approx. 40 minutes. The result was a recipe we make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I added shredded carrots and sliced mushrooms to up the vegetable level. I also sliced the zucchini because the grated seemed to disappear when cooked. This was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States