Saucy Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I didn't care for the consistency of the sauce and the taste wasn't that great.I think I would like this better if apple juice or cider were used instead of applesauce, and not quite so much salty ingredients. They didn't seem to improve anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
did not work out for me. pork never got tender, and sauce was just odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Manalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very tasty. I didn't have applesauce, but I did have two apples, so I made a quick applesauce similiar to one from this site (unpeeled diced apples, splash or two of apple juice, cinnamon, clove, dash salt, Tbsp brown sugar, and a splash of lemon juice added- after cooking covered 10 minutes or so). I mashed them a bit with a potato masher, then added the rest of the ingredients. Substituted brown sugar and reduced the amount, and baked for only 20 minutes. The sauce is subtly sweet and the garlic flavor really stands out. The chops are juicy, and the dish isn't overly salty despite adding salt and pepper during the browning process. This is now a favorite. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I didn't make these in the oven, I used a crock pot. I just like how tender the meat comes out in it. I used garlic powder instead of minced, and omitted the butter, as I didn't brown the meat first, just simmered in the crock pot. I also added a little cinnamon to the sauce. These were even better the next day, as they seemed to soak up the flavors even more. My mom absolutely loved them, and she isn't a pork eater!! Thanks Amy for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Who knew such a simple dish could be so yummy. Since I didn't have applesauce in the house, but had apples, I made the applesauce from scratch - no sugar. My husband raved about the dish, then took leftovers to lunch the next day. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I used left over sliced pork roast. Made up the sauce minus the sugar and poured over the top. This recipe is a definite keeper. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These were okay. They were moist, but the flavor was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My family thought this was very good. Just as the original poster said, it was a great way to use up some applesauce I had lying around, and it smelled great while it was cooking. Made this as described except double the sauce and cooked the pork in part of it and poured the rest of the sauce on the pork pieces to bake. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Ok so this was pretty good...a bit too sweet so I'll marinade the meat in something else to balance it out as suggested in the reviews. I enjoyed the sauce, but my hubby was not a huge fan of the mixture. I'll probably make this again with only some slight alterations to the meat, not the sauce, the sauce was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I loved the flavor of these pork chops, and I was especially pleased with how tender they were. I omitted the sugar like many others suggested. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States