Sauceless Garden Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I really liked this recipe, but my kids did not. I left out the mushrooms (personal preference) and added half a red pepper, chopped. I didn't measure the feta, so I think I added more than 1/2 cup. I used four fairly large roma tomatoes and it was plenty; but for the last layer, make sure that the edges of the pasta arae covered by either tomato or the vegetable mixture so that the pasta doesn't get dried out o the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and refreshing! I halved the amount and only used about 3 ounces of mozzarella at most (didn't have any feta) since my mom isn't a big fan of cheese. I also used dry basil and oregano since I didn't have any fresh. I used the original amount of garlic and zucchini and one big tomato. There was a considerable amount of liquid in the dish even after deseeding the tomatoes and sitting for 25 minutes after it came out of the oven. The liquid really didn't bother me, and I am too lazy to sautee the veggies first next time to remove some of the liquid. The flavor of the balsamic vinegar really brought everything together. I am a fairly petite girl, and I ate half of this lasagna!!! Can't wait to make this again!! Btw, I was able to perfectly fit my half of this recipe into a 7x11 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The flavor was great, but the presentation wasn't so good. There was a ton of liquid in the bottom of the pan. I also had to use a 9x13 dish, as there was no way that it would have fit into a 9x9. I will keep trying to make adjustments to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used what I had on hand and it was delicious. I ommitted the oil, sugar, tomato and balsamic since I didnt have them. I used a small amount of pasta sauce and fat free cheese. This was amazing and it will be part of my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSVOMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Amazing. I was afriad of an abundance of liquid and patted my tomatoes with a paper towel before adding them. It came out fantastic. What great flavors! My husband is such a picky eater and I still can't believe we ate the entire dish of lasagna in one sitting!!!! I also added chopped asparagus and it came out absolutely PERFECT!!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristalgrogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good! I omitted the feta cheese and increased the mozzarella cheese. Added 1 yellow squash. Didn't have the roma tomatoes on hand so substituted 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes. Next time I will add cheese between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a good, simple recipe. I used fat free mozzarella and reduced fat feta. I doubled the amount of mushrooms and added extra spinach. The mushrooms provide a lot of flavor, so you really can't have enough. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used dried basil - next time I'll make a point of going out to get fresh basil. I had to bake mine a bit longer than suggested because the vegetables were not yet tender - around 55 minutes I think. I also used regular lasagna noodles and they worked fine. Next time I'll try adding pasta sauce and artichoke hearts. The nice thing about this recipe is you can really play with the amounts and kinds of filling to tailor it to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I loved this recipe. Other than the 'oven ready' noodles not being done at the end (which NEVER are for me!!) it was fantastic. If the noodle thing happens to you, do what I did - add 1/4 cup water, cover with foil and cook another 10-15 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Oh my gosh! I am not the biggest fan of lasagna, so this was my first attempt at making one. I am a total cheesehead so of course I used more than called for: 1 whole cup of feta and 2 cups mozzerella. I still used all the tomatoes, but with each layer I added a thin layer of tomato and basil pasta sauce...yum! The nearby grocery store was out of fresh basil so I used dried, although I'm sure it would be much better with fresh...that is a must next time. To cut down on the juices in the dish, I sauteed my spinach and squeezed out the liquid. I also used regular lasagna noodles instead of the no cook type. There was no way I was going to fit this all into a 9x9 dish, and a 9x13 did the trick. Also, for the people that are wary of balsamic vinegar, DON'T BE! It's not overpowering at all and is a nice complement to the other flavors in the dish. This is most definitly a keeper and I am so glad I tried it:) Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Asher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Incredibly delicious and nutritious. I added 1 cup more mozzarella cheese to make it hold together better, and it turned out great, not too cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States