Sauceless Garden Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Fantastic dish! The aroma from the kitchen while this was baking was incredible. Don't be afraid to use the vinegar--as long as you're using Balsamic, it won't have a "vinegary" taste!! I added an extra clove of garlic (because we LOVE garlic) and didn't use feta since I didn't have any (just added extra mozzarella). Be sure to let the lasagna rest for at least 25 minutes when you take it out of the oven or else you'll end up with a watery mess. Letting it rest allows the cheese to firm up enough to hold the lasagna together, and allows the veggies and pasta to absorb the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was so so good! I was really worried about having lots of extra liquid, but that didnt happen at all. I used about 2 cups of mozzarella cheese and 1 cup of feta. I seeded the tomatoes before I put them in which might be why I didnt have lots of excess liquid. Also, don't put the cheese on top of the lasagna right away, but wait until the last ten minutes. I let it bake for 35 min then added the top cheese layer and left it for 10 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
DO NOT USE NO COOK LAZAGNA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This a light, nice twist on lasagna. Good taste, definitely add extra mozza and feta! Just one complaint, the vegetables produced too much liquid for the noodles to absorb despite my cooking it for an hour. I would recommend extra layers of noodles or perhaps a breadcrumb layer to absorb. My Neanderthal man was a bit leery due to no meat and so many vegetables; making the dish suspiciously "chick food"... but he tried it and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This is the freshest tasting lasagna I have ever eaten.Does not sit heavy in your stomach after you have finished.My vegetarian daughter loves it.I have made it many times and it never fails to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is amazing!! Really very good! I used a 9 x 13 inch pan and didnt use the full amount of tomatoes b/c someone mentioned it was too much. I ran out of tomatoes after the very first layer =( I noticed that everyone had the problem of the veggies releasing liquid in the oven so i precooked all the veggies except the spinach. I drizzles the tomatoes with olive oil, diced garlic cloves, salt + pepper and stuck them in the oven for 20 mins. The dish was filled with liquid when i took it out i just picked out the tomatoes with tongs. I fried the zucchini and red onion in some veggie oil for a few mins so they didnt release so much liquid while baking. I also added olives and a yellow pepper to the spinach mixture. Also since i ran out of tomatoes, i used spaghetti sauce for the other layers. It was really good. You can just use some spaghetti sauce and it works just as well as tomatoes. i really loved it. im going to make it again today and i just made this yesterday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
YUM!! I added extra spinach and used all fat free cheese, as well as no oil. I also added a little bit of tomato sauce between the layers. This was delicious!! Very fresh! The fresh basil really makes this recipe, so don't leave that part out!! Thanks for the great recipe :) Great way to get a few serving of vegetables in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Thank you SO much Emily B for this recipe! In general, a wonderful vegetarian dish, to use up and veggies youve got laying around, or from the garden! I however, did have pasta sauce- I used Classico's Tomato and Basil. I substituted this for the tomatoes, and just made a thin coating of it on top of the noodles, or whenever called for. Other things i changed, just because it was what i had or needed to use up: Frozen spinach instead of fresh (about half a bag), yellow onion instead of red, 1 whole cup (at least) mozzarella inside the dish itself, and more for topping, 1 whole cup feta, dried basil and dried oregano, spoonful of minced garlic, a fat pinch of fresh thyme, 2 shallots, just one big glug of balsamic (im not a huge fan) and three glugs of olive oil. Also, this fit in a 13x9 pan all the way up to the rim, and i had to end up cooking mine probably for 50 minutes. The result is fresh, zesty, and generally attractive. I probably wont use the Thyme next time- thought it came out too overpowering, and i might add more feta to it, just because i love feta. A nice medely, even with the sauce instead of tomatoes- I might try it sauce-less next time, just to see how it turnes out. Good way to get your veggies in, and use them up before they go bad. Absolutley excellent, easy, versitile, healthy, vegetarian, main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is FANTASTIC!! I was leary because it seems like a lot of ingredients. I thought it'd be too complicated for a weeknight meal but it went together very quickly. I doubled the cheeses as well as the garlic (there's no such thing as too much garlic). My stepson said " I just learned to love vegetables!" After his 3rd serving. This is a keeper in my file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great recipe! I added more cheese (both Feta & Mozzarella) and I think next time I will use regular lasagna noodles.  I am not a fan of the no-cook ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States