Sauceless Garden Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Based on all the reviews that claimed that this dish was too watery, I used thawed, frozen spinach which I squeezed dry instead of the fresh spinach. I had purchased the Roma tomatoes to make this last week, but life got in the way as it tends to do, and I didn't get around to making this as soon as I'd have liked. Therefore, half of the tomatoes had passed the point of no-return, so I had to use a couple of cans of diced tomatoes in their place. Otherwise, I followed the recipe except to use more mozzarella and some asparagus that needed to be used up and this came out wonderfully. It fit perfectly into a 9 by 9 inch pan and the lasagna held together very well. My husband was amazed that a meatless, sauceless lasagna could taste so good. Thanks so much for the recipe, your mom, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this exactly as written and thought it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was excellent-my family loves it! My only change would be to cook a little longer because the noodles were a little undone. Otherwise, very unique, fresh tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was tasty. I did not have Roma tomatoes, just regular from my garden. I added some ricotta cheese and I added extra mozzerella and I would add more of both next time. I also added a little chopped red bell pepper. It was a little watery, but it wasn't bothersome. I think this dish could be fine with any type of pasta. Just mix everything together and mix with cooked al dente pasta and cover with extra cheese and bake. My boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms, so I'll have to make it without next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
really good!! the only thing that I don't get is how to prevent all the water at the end, very watery. Other than that, I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ness789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was one of the most disappointing recipes I have made on this site. The vinegar was overpowering, it was watery, if a tiny piece of noodle wasn't covered it was hard as a rock. It was nearly impossible to stuff it all into a 9x9 dish, too. Needless to say I will not be wasting good veggies on this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a great way to use up my veggies from a local farm. And I was expecting it to turn out good but wow it was a great! It's not your usual lasagna so if you're the type who can't try new things and doesn't like veggies this probably isn't for you. I used one large zuchinni, four medium tomatoes (reg/not plum), one 6oz bag baby spinach, two port. mushrooms, four very small baby eggplants, half a red onion and one green pepper. I chopped all the veggies fairly small and they were perfectly cooked. My zuchinni was thick so I quartered and even sixth'd my slices so they were bite size. The tomatoes were deseeded and diced; not sliced. I used one cup feta and a lil over two cups mozzarella (reserving 3/4c to sprinkle over during last 15m baking). Since there was no sauce I made sure to cover all my noodles (which were softened in hot water so they are partially cooked before baking) so there weren't any crunched edges. I had used a 9x13 pyrex and it was piled very high but did cook down some. I think the balsamic was a great addition and added a wonderful flavor but be sure to use quality vinegar. The cheap stuff doesn't produce a good taste. I baked it for 45min and let it rest for at least 15min. It set perfectly and didn't shed a drop of water. I can't wait to make again. While I'm interested in adding just a bit of sauce next time I'd hate to detract from the balsamic...we'll see. This is a great recipe and I'm really looking forward to leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very vegetable-y. Good if you are a big fan of vegetables. My suggestion if I were to make it again would be use all of the noodles and a little less spinach. Husband didn't care for it, but it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I had high hopes, using veggies from the farmers market. I just didn't think that the flavor was there. I could taste the feta, but it wasn't a recipe that came together as more than the sum of all of its parts. Edible, but not delicious. I made it as listed, only slight change was dried oregano (less than fresh)- but I did use the fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoxie1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Amazing. It's so nice that it's a bit healthier, but I did have the urge to eat the whole pan. Added a bit of spice for the husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States