Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this!!! When they say restaurants beware; that is an understatement! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grantsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this last night & we all liked it (even the kids!). I did make some changes basically for preference. I omited the onion, pepper, pepper flakes & sugar. After reading reviews the sugar didn't seem like it had to be in there. Instead of the sauce, I used a can of tomato paste with a 1/2 can of water. I did add the wine after the garlic like some suggested. It was a very tatsy sauce & I served it over tortellini as a side dish to pork chops! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent, easy recipe. I popped it in a slow oven for a few hours after stirring in some cooked chicken pieces. My guests and hubby raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe is fast , easy, and extremely delicious. I didn't have everything so I improvised - instead of bell pepper, tomatoe sauce, & chick. soup base - I added 1 tomatoe on the vine and 14 oz stewed tomatoes. I had PIAT D'OR wine still from Xmas so I tried that - good thing I didn't add the suger until tasting. Very sweet! Next time I will use a Grigio wine (which is dry and 0 sweetness) and I can't wait - I know it will be perfect! I'll let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really good. Because many complained of the sauce being too thin and runny I added a can of tomato paste and it was perfect. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
A good base sauce. I had fresh basil on hand, so I used that instead of dried. I only used 3 tbs. of oil and half and half instead of heavy cream. Added 1/4 c. parmesan cheese. The only thing I would change is to use 1/4 c. of wine next time. I added the amount recommended (1/2 c.) before the tomato sauce and boiled some off, but it was still too wine-y. All in all, a good recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was the most amazing sauce I've ever tasted! It was quick to make, and tasted like...heaven. It was also fun drinking the Moscato I put into it while cooking. It had a little heat, but it blended well with the other flavors. As it cooled it was a little difficult not to get Thyme stuck in my teeth--I would try to grind this or use fresh next time (and reduced). Otherwise, perfect perfect perfect!!! (Oh, and I used the suggestion to boil the wine a bit before adding the tomato sauce and chicken base, and only added a dash of sugar instead of the full tablespoon, as another reviewer suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This sauce was good! Mine didn't turn out quite perfectly, but not through the fault of the recipe. My stove just likes to burn things (like the herbs and garlic, and the tomato sauce sizzled as well) even when on low heat. It turned out better than I thought though, I was afraid the sauce would taste of burnt herbs but it was fine. I did make some slight changes, including omitting the green pepper and the onion (my brother won't eat onion-y sauce), adding about 1/4 cup of parm to help thicken it, and I didn't measure the amounts of tomato sauce or cream, so I'm not sure how much I added. I also agree with another reviewer's suggestion to add the white wine with the tomato sauce, rather than with the cream, so that more of the alcohol cooks off. I also took the suggestion of a few others and reduced the amount of oil, to about 4 tbsp, and I think when I make again, I'll put even less oil. But overall, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I found this dish very easy to prepare and absolutely wonderful. If you are concerned with consistency don't be. I was a little worried about it at first but after i mixed in the pasta everything seemed fine, also it does thicken upon cooling. My only problem was finding a way to use the other 2, 1/2 cups of wine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very tasty and easy to put together. Tasted like we were dining at a fine restaurant. I used half & half instead of cream. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee. Will make this again for sure!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States