Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Family loved it and it was fast and easy to make. I didn't have any wine on hand and it was still amazing. Paired with basic pasta recipe on this site. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made a double batch and I cut in half the olive oil. I like my food a little spicy so I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for just a mild hint of hot. I added shrimp and served over spaghetti topped with parmesan with garlic bread on the side. Great cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We really liked this sauce although I started with less olive oil (6 tbls. not necessary). I tossed grilled chicken and penne with the sauce and it came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Four stars bedause this is a good base for a rose sauce, but the seasoning is off, and more basil and marjoram works better than thyme. However, individuals can tweak the seasoning to their own taste. For those who didn't like the sweetness, note that the better (and more authentic way) to 'sweeten' a too acidic tomato based sauce is to increase the amount of ONION and sweat them down in the oil well at the beginning of the cooking. Balance of sweetness is also dependent on the white wine used and DON'T leave it out if you want authentic rose sauce. if you prefer a less "sweet" sauce, use a fruity pino grigio, not chardonnay which is much too assertive and astringent, or a blended white table wine. If you do want a bit LESS acidic sauce use a slightly sweeter wine like a Riesling. It should definitely be added in sooner rather than later, also, to mellow the flavor, before adding the cream. Don't use a wine you would not drink -- especially not 'cooking wine' which is bad wine with salt added. All that said, yes if you are not going to use more onions and (RED)bell peppers, then definitely cut back on the oil. Using more of those two veggies will help incorporate the oil better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! We substituted some liquid beef stock for the chicken bouillon, and used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes (because we didn't have any) and it still came out wonderfully. Also added some baked fish on the side for protein. Felt easy to make, and had just the perfect combination of sweetness and savoury italian flavours. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a really good base recipe. I followed it almost exactly and would probably omit the sugar and use less bouillon next time. I may also try this recipe with less cream and add a diced tomato. We added chicken adouille sausage and made fresh pasta. This really worked well with with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Loved this sauce. I did make a few changes, but that was due to personal preference (added more garlic and red pepper flakes and cut sugar in half) and what I had on hand (fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream). Also, I added the wine with the tomato sauce as others had suggested to give the alchohol time to burn off. I sauteed some shrimp and spinach to add to the tortellini, and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very tasty indeed! It was a tad too sweet but that's a personal preference. Overall very delicious and easy to put together. Great weeknight treat. Thank you for a simple yet tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is great! I made it with shrimp and spinach tortellini. I cooked the shrimp with a little olive oil and salt and pepper and took them out of the pan. Only used 4 table spoons of olive oil. Omitted the sugar. Added the wine before the tomato sauce, brought it to a boil and then added the tomato sauce and bring that to a boil. Tossed everything together at the end. Delicious! You can really put this on any pasta! I didn't cut up the pepper small enough so next time I am going to make sure it is very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This sauce is addictive! I need a 12-step program for it. Excuse me as I lick the bowl so I do not miss a drop of this sauce. Did I mention I really like this sauce? I just added this to my family favorites folder. I followed the directions until the tomato sauce. I substituted spaghetti sauce for that, and then substituted a light alfredo sauce for the heavy cream. I served it with tortellini. Excuse me while I go into my Sauce Rosee coma now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States