Satay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Yummy!! This sauce was SO GOOD and so easy to make. I served it along with the Chicken Satay recipe from this site. Will DEFINATELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is the most authentic peanut sauce if you are looking for what is similar to those found in restaurants...it is made with coconut milk. If the recipe is too bland for your taste, increase the heat with a hot sauce, cayenne, more red pepper flakes or whatever you want. I put lots of ginger in mine. I don't even measure how much. I estimate a tablespoon or more. If the recipe is not peanutty enough, add more peanut butter. As long as it has the coconut milk and the peanut butter it is an extremely flexible recipe. In addition to lots of ginger, this recipe is served well by generous garlic as well. I serve this over chicken skewers marinated in an improvised teriyaki sauce with the red chili sauce (not rooster sauce) with rice and edamame. A perfect, easy and reliable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This Satay sauce is so good that it's so close to the one in the Thai place I eat atand the flavors are just irrestible that this sauce is excellent with Thai Satay of chicken or Beef It's SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I have searched for this recipe forever and here it is!Beautiful. Only problem I had was that I only had access to non-natural skippy type peanut butter,so when I boiled the ingredients, the oil separated from the rest of the mix. I needed to whisk the oil back in, as no amount of spoon stiring helped. I don't know if anyone else had this problem when using natural peanut butter.I also plan on using the leftovers to make a cold thai pasta salad that has penne, apple chunks, ginger(already in satay sauce), chicken chunks, green onions and small bits of brocoli just like I used to buy at my favorite cafe diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Excellent both in taste and in ease of preparation. Versitile recipe -- my husband had his on chicken, I had mine on tofu. Good with snow peas and other crunchy vegetables. I also have added ground ginger (1 tbsp or so) and a tsp or so of garlic chili paste. I think this latter could be increased, if you like spice. Really great recipe -- I won't be looking for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This turned out well. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I used Sriracha brand hot chili sauce. (Many Asian groceries sell this sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Great! I made this to go along with the chicken satay recipe from this website. These go along great together! Thanks for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This sauce is surprisingly very good with very little ingredients. In my country we make this sauce from scratch and it is a very tedious process. I am so happy to find this recipe. So close to the original. If you like it hot like me, you can add sambal oelek (hot red chili sauce)or red chili flakes.Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
this is sooooo great - unbelievable..... who knew it was so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
We loved it...kids didn't but it was delish..you have to keep it warm and stir in serving dish..I tried making it w/smooth PB it was good but I preferred the crunchy thanks for sharing =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BENSMOM526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States