Satay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was thicker than my usual satay sauce, but had a good flavor. I love coconut milk and am always looking for ways to experiment with it. I tossed this with pad thai noodles and rather than chunky peanut butter, I used the creamy kind and ground up my own peanuts to sprinkle on top. Thanks Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Pretty disappointing. Very bland, really just tasted like peanut butter with some spices in it. I love peanut/satay sauce, but I'll keep looking for a recipe to use at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Yummy. Very easy & tasty. I added a couple things, but a good sauce to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I added about a teaspoon of garlic and used about a 2 1/2 teaspoons of cayenne powder (I didn't have any flakes, and I am a hot-food freak). Also, I used a 14 ounce can of coconut milk. This turned out very nice! I'm curious to try it out as a marinade (and may up my rating later, if I can!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is the most authentic peanut sauce if you are looking for what is similar to those found in restaurants...it is made with coconut milk. If the recipe is too bland for your taste, increase the heat with a hot sauce, cayenne, more red pepper flakes or whatever you want. I put lots of ginger in mine. I don't even measure how much. I estimate a tablespoon or more. If the recipe is not peanutty enough, add more peanut butter. As long as it has the coconut milk and the peanut butter it is an extremely flexible recipe. In addition to lots of ginger, this recipe is served well by generous garlic as well. I serve this over chicken skewers marinated in an improvised teriyaki sauce with the red chili sauce (not rooster sauce) with rice and edamame. A perfect, easy and reliable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This Satay sauce is so good that it's so close to the one in the Thai place I eat atand the flavors are just irrestible that this sauce is excellent with Thai Satay of chicken or Beef It's SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Excellent both in taste and in ease of preparation. Versitile recipe -- my husband had his on chicken, I had mine on tofu. Good with snow peas and other crunchy vegetables. I also have added ground ginger (1 tbsp or so) and a tsp or so of garlic chili paste. I think this latter could be increased, if you like spice. Really great recipe -- I won't be looking for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
this is sooooo great - unbelievable..... who knew it was so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This sauce is surprisingly very good with very little ingredients. In my country we make this sauce from scratch and it is a very tedious process. I am so happy to find this recipe. So close to the original. If you like it hot like me, you can add sambal oelek (hot red chili sauce)or red chili flakes.Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I have searched for this recipe forever and here it is!Beautiful. Only problem I had was that I only had access to non-natural skippy type peanut butter,so when I boiled the ingredients, the oil separated from the rest of the mix. I needed to whisk the oil back in, as no amount of spoon stiring helped. I don't know if anyone else had this problem when using natural peanut butter.I also plan on using the leftovers to make a cold thai pasta salad that has penne, apple chunks, ginger(already in satay sauce), chicken chunks, green onions and small bits of brocoli just like I used to buy at my favorite cafe diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States