Satay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Ever since I lived in Indonesia, it's been my personal mission to find a fantastic peanut sauce. The store bought ones don't cut it for me. But tonight I attempted my own (this recipe) and was pleasantly surprised! It wasn't quite what I wanted, but I was still satisfied. I didn't have coconut milk, so I used 1% (the strongest I have!). I also tossed in a sprinkling of taco seasoning instead of pepper flakes, and added a bit more brown sugar as it was too peanut-y. It went well with my satay and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I think it needs a bit more hot spices. I'll try more red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was great with chicken over rice! However, I felt like something was missing. Beware if you don't love peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was so goooooood. I used 13 oz of coconut milk instead of the 10 oz can. I baked a couple of chicken breasts in the oven and cubed and put into the sauce. I garnished it with chopped green onions and served it over jasmine rice. I would make this again in a heart beat. I am going to use the leftovers tomorrow and put it over linguine noodles. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
My husband and I have tried many satay sauces and this one is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ball Ground, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The satay sauce turned out excellent, I did have to do a few variations: I added more peanut butter, and brown sugar and soy sauce. It was a tad bit bland when I prepared as directed, so I just increased the amounts. It was delicious and went perfect with our chicken satay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The best satay/peanut sauce i have tried out so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujo77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is a really good, quick, & easy sauce. I added a bit more peanut butter and left out the brown sugar completely. I had missed the sugar when making this originally and then decided it was great with out it. I also added garlic, and chili paste. I tend to like a more savory peanut sauce. I grilled chicken skewers using this as a basting sauce, and then alongside as a dipping sauce. The next day, I took the leftover sauce and made a meal out of it by adding some leftover linguine noodles and cut up chicken. I warmed this up, tossed it with the sauce and added bean sprouts, some leftover veggies, and some green onions to the top. It was yummy!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I liked this sauce, but my husband didn't. He said he didn't care for the peanut butter taste in it... although I've made other chicken recipes with peanut butter and he really liked those. I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I think this was too rich for my kids. They didn't like it, which surprised me since they love everything peanut butter. I added some garlic and ginger and used it with chicken tender pieces and then broiled. It made the chicken nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States