Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great recipe and super easy to make. My only suggestion is that if you made them beforehand and cover them overnight or a few hours, to use foil or plastic wrap sprayed with Pam. I covered my Pyrex baking dishes with the plastic pyrex covers and the tops stuck to the cover ... so they didn't look super pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are amazing! We love them with a fried egg for breakfast or brunch too. I have been making them on the hawaiian bread hamburger buns, which makes 6 sandwiches. I only use a half pound of shaved ham and have only used swiss and it's worked great. They also reheat well in the microwave in a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were delicious! But I used 2 packages of rolls, 1 1/2 pounds of ham and I doubled the butter sauce- this way I used up all of the cream cheese. I'm glad I did, because just 12 wouldn't have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The recipe only calls for one stick of butter, not two, rosethecook. 1/2 cup butter is 1 stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It's delicious. However, I would caution anyone for using 2 sticks butter for this recipe. Either cut the entire sauce (4 ingredients) to 1/2, or double the amount of buns. Same for the cheese spread. It's way too much for 12 buns. Truthfully, you need 2 packages of buns to follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were very good. I used a regular swiss cheese that I already had. I also used a popular brand of hawaiian roll, and they were fairly small, so I didn't use all of the cream cheese or ham (and halved each slice of cheese), but there was still plenty on each. I recommend that you keep an eye on these, as mine were well-done at about 15 minutes. They probably would have burned had I left them in the entire 20. Husband thought they were delicious and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
MOUTHWATERING! I used thinly sliced boiled ham from the deli. I also used the individually wrapped swiss cheese slices (similar to the American cheese slices) because they really melt easily and smoothly. Each sandwich only requires 1/2 slice of cheese. If you leave the sandwiches covered a little after removing from the oven, the rolls are nicely steamed and soft. These are a tasty and inexpensive way to feed a crowd--a definite crowd pleaser. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow, these are really good. Have made them twice, baking for the recommended 20 minutes the first time...they were a little too brown. This time, I took them out at 15 minutes and they were heated through perfectly. Keep your eye on them because they start to brown pretty quickly, and you may want to cover with some foil to complete the cooking. I can see making these so many different ways just by changing what's between the top and bottom bun, but keeping the butter sauce the same. I'm thinking turkey and swiss with AR's onion jam recipe, and Italian beef, mozzarella, and some roasted red peppers and onions . Yeah, they're a little decadent nutrition-wise, but they're worth the splurge every now and then. Definitely worth consideration for a Super Bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were off the charts amazing!! Made a triple batch for my husband's poker night and the guys were actually asking if they could take some home...the problem being there were no "leftovers". Between the guys and my children sneaking in repeatedly to "steal" a sandwich they disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this for lunch and it was so good. I didn't have onion and chive cream cheese so I used regular and added chives and onion powder. I cooked covered for 10 min and uncovered for 5. It was not soggy. I also used Swiss cheese. Really delicious sandwich for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States