Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Not my taste, too salty and I didn't like the taste of the gruyere cheese. My hubby didn't love them but didn't complain but I won't be making these again. Also I didn't like the sauce on top of the sandwiches because I hate soggy bread and that's exactly what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made these for Super Bowl, and they were a total hit! Absolutely lovely the next day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Everyone raved about these, will surely be making them for get togethers for some time to come. I used 2 packages of small hawaiian rolls, 1 lb good quality brown sugar ham, 1/2 lb lacey swiss cheese and added some honey mustard to the topping mix. I think the meat/cheese/bread ratio was just right. Also didn't use the whole tub of cream cheese, just gave a generous spread. Uncovered the sandwiches for last 5-10 minutes so the tops crisped up a little. This cost about $20 to make so I'll probably just make for special occassions. Most of my other appetizers are less expensive, but this was worth it, don't skimp on quality ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
These were spectacular!!!!!!!!!!! Made them for my husbands poker night and they were a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen DeLaCova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are amazing. I got so many rave reviews and the pan was gone very quickly. Like others said - do NOT use the entire tub of cream cheese. You need half at most. Also, I only used 1/3 cup butter and that was plenty. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
so good! follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These are pretty good. A tad too cheesy for me, and hubby wasn't so pleased with the minced onion, but we both enjoyed them enough to give them 4 stars. :) I'd probably only do the cheese spread next time, and use minced garlic for the hubby. Very easy, a little bit of prep time, but not much. If I'd made these ahead of time they'd have been even quicker! I used turkey bacon instead of ham--I didn't want to pull out a huge thing of sliced ham when it was just me for the rest of the week. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My family loved these. Next time I will leave them in the oven for 25 minutes. I also needed 2 packages of rolls and it really needs 1 lb & a 1/2 of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Good little sandwich. I liked the onion and worcestershire flavors and would have preferred both of these to have been stronger. I didn't care for the cream cheese part though. The sweet hawaiian roll goes well with the savory flavors. I expected the tops to be soggy from the butter/worcestershire spooned over, but they weren't at all! I'll fix this again leaving the cream cheese off or making a super thin layer. I made my own spread with plain cream cheese softened, dried chives and a little onion powder. The cream cheese flavor was fine, the texture was all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I was on my own the night I made this recipe, so I made a single sandwich using a hamburger bun. I scaled the other ingredients down to two servings, but didn’t use nearly the amount of cream cheese spread. I wrapped my sandwich in non-stick foil and baked for 20 minutes. When I opened the foil the top was a little soggy, so I popped it under the broiler to crisp it up. I really wanted to like this, but the warm, runny cream cheese just didn’t do it for me. It was edible, but I won’t be making it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States