Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are amazing. I got so many rave reviews and the pan was gone very quickly. Like others said - do NOT use the entire tub of cream cheese. You need half at most. Also, I only used 1/3 cup butter and that was plenty. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
so good! follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These are pretty good. A tad too cheesy for me, and hubby wasn't so pleased with the minced onion, but we both enjoyed them enough to give them 4 stars. :) I'd probably only do the cheese spread next time, and use minced garlic for the hubby. Very easy, a little bit of prep time, but not much. If I'd made these ahead of time they'd have been even quicker! I used turkey bacon instead of ham--I didn't want to pull out a huge thing of sliced ham when it was just me for the rest of the week. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My family loved these. Next time I will leave them in the oven for 25 minutes. I also needed 2 packages of rolls and it really needs 1 lb & a 1/2 of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Good little sandwich. I liked the onion and worcestershire flavors and would have preferred both of these to have been stronger. I didn't care for the cream cheese part though. The sweet hawaiian roll goes well with the savory flavors. I expected the tops to be soggy from the butter/worcestershire spooned over, but they weren't at all! I'll fix this again leaving the cream cheese off or making a super thin layer. I made my own spread with plain cream cheese softened, dried chives and a little onion powder. The cream cheese flavor was fine, the texture was all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I was on my own the night I made this recipe, so I made a single sandwich using a hamburger bun. I scaled the other ingredients down to two servings, but didn’t use nearly the amount of cream cheese spread. I wrapped my sandwich in non-stick foil and baked for 20 minutes. When I opened the foil the top was a little soggy, so I popped it under the broiler to crisp it up. I really wanted to like this, but the warm, runny cream cheese just didn’t do it for me. It was edible, but I won’t be making it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
FANTASTIC! I used cooked ham and swiss cheese b/c that's what I always have on hand. This was hands down the BEST version of these tiny sandwiches that I have ever had...EVER! Will def be making these over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow, these are really good. Have made them twice, baking for the recommended 20 minutes the first time...they were a little too brown. This time, I took them out at 15 minutes and they were heated through perfectly. Keep your eye on them because they start to brown pretty quickly, and you may want to cover with some foil to complete the cooking. I can see making these so many different ways just by changing what's between the top and bottom bun, but keeping the butter sauce the same. I'm thinking turkey and swiss with AR's onion jam recipe, and Italian beef, mozzarella, and some roasted red peppers and onions . Yeah, they're a little decadent nutrition-wise, but they're worth the splurge every now and then. Definitely worth consideration for a Super Bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
AMAZING!!!! I made these for a baby shower and have been getting phone calls every since. That was over 7 months ago. I am getting ready to make them again for a conference as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My 13-year old son made these for a family lunch. Everyone loved them. We used mozzarella, swiss, and American cheese for variety. Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jabberwokky

Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States