Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have made these so many different ways using different ingredients but keeping the same butter sauce. I've used smoked turkey and brie with honey mustard, ham, gruyere and bacon bits with the chive cream cheese, thinly sliced roast beef, cheddar and horseradish cream cheese... My family loves them and they're great for Sunday football or a simple cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
These are delicious! I substituted Swiss for the Gruyere, used shaved imported ham, and Savory Butter King's Hawaiian rolls as that is what I had on hand. I also used my own cream cheese mixture made with softened cream cheese, chopped scallions, dried chives, onion powder and garlic powder. After letting the assembled sandwiches sit in the refrigerator (covered) for about an hour, before baking, I sprinkled the tops of the buns with a mixture of dried onion flakes, poppy and sesame seeds. They baked, topped with sprayed foil, for 20 minutes. I then removed the foil and let them bake for another 8 minutes. They were not at all soggy. The sandwiches went over big and I will most definitely double the recipe next time I make these, and perhaps try other ingredients using this baking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
In spite of me these turned out 5 stars for a recent 'Girls Day Out' gathering at the beach house. The night before I was tired, in a hurry and just skimmed over the recipe. I mistakenly mixed the chive and onion cream cheese in with the sauce ingredients! I went ahead and spread some of the mixture onto the roll tops. Made the sauce (this time!) according to recipe, etc. Baked 15 min. covered/5 min. uncovered. These were a real hit!!! We had fun coming up with different ways to fix these in the future: using small crescent rolls, different types of meats, cheeses, sun dried tomatoes, etc. etc. Nothing like pooling together our culinary resources!!! Thanks AR for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
The recipe might not look like much, but they are super tasty! I used Buddig ham instead of deli ham and that's the only substitution I made. My husband loved them and he's exclusively a meat and potatoes guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
There is a step missing that will help people who thought the sandwiches were too soggy. After you've baked them for 20 minutes covered, remove the foil & bake for another 5 minutes. This browns & crisps the top of the rolls. This step is included in Caren's original recipe. I made these for the second time today (the first was when the recipe was originally posted on Food Network). The recipes are very close to identical - one makes chive & onion creamed cheese & the other you buy it premade. I also used grated swiss cheese this time - much cheaper & as delicious. Both times the sandwiches were devoured. A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made this for a potluck at work and everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made mine on Hawaiian Sandwich Buns and used left over honey baked ham. The topping sauce really makes it great! Served with pasta salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
These were ok, really greasy. I didn't like all the butter on them. The cream cheese was just too gooey and overwhelming. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Linder-Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I really liked this and will be making it again. I used Black Forest Ham and Swiss Cheese. It was delicious. I halved the recipe and made some plain ham and cheddar cheese sandwiches for the kids. Put a little butter on top of them and baked in the same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Frighteningly addictive. I use Swiss cheese which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States