Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I need this recipe about 4 times. The best adjustment was adding caramelized onions to the sandwiches and omitting the onion from the butter/worstershire sauce. then rather dousing the whole thing in butter sauce and letting it sit 20 minutes I simply brush the top of the bread with the butter we're sister. And sprinkled on parmesan. The sandwiches came out much less soggy and nice and toasty and better flavor with the caramelized onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
So tasty! I love how the bottom of the sandwiches got nice and buttery with a slight crispness. Followed the recipe fairly close. I'm sure gruyere is amazing compared to the sliced swiss i used instead but.....wow, it's expensive. I start to make the butter mixture, awww ...out of parm cheese :\ Well, maybe this shredded cheddar will do? Oops! Forgot to cover with foil. Whatever, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My kids loved these!!! Had them twice in one week... I only had sharp cheddar cheese and smoked shaved ham but the effect was the same, 12 delicious little sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My sis n law made these for Christmas to go along with Gumbo..they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These are fun and tasty, too!! Which will always get you five stars in my book. I do have to admit to sneaking into the fridge, after everyone went to bed, to hijack the leftovers. But shhhh... don't tell. I did cut the butter in half, I think that was a typo with the recipe writer and it was just what the chef ordered on a cloudy overcast day in the PNW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
way too much cream cheese spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have made these so many different ways using different ingredients but keeping the same butter sauce. I've used smoked turkey and brie with honey mustard, ham, gruyere and bacon bits with the chive cream cheese, thinly sliced roast beef, cheddar and horseradish cream cheese... My family loves them and they're great for Sunday football or a simple cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
In spite of me these turned out 5 stars for a recent 'Girls Day Out' gathering at the beach house. The night before I was tired, in a hurry and just skimmed over the recipe. I mistakenly mixed the chive and onion cream cheese in with the sauce ingredients! I went ahead and spread some of the mixture onto the roll tops. Made the sauce (this time!) according to recipe, etc. Baked 15 min. covered/5 min. uncovered. These were a real hit!!! We had fun coming up with different ways to fix these in the future: using small crescent rolls, different types of meats, cheeses, sun dried tomatoes, etc. etc. Nothing like pooling together our culinary resources!!! Thanks AR for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
The recipe might not look like much, but they are super tasty! I used Buddig ham instead of deli ham and that's the only substitution I made. My husband loved them and he's exclusively a meat and potatoes guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
There is a step missing that will help people who thought the sandwiches were too soggy. After you've baked them for 20 minutes covered, remove the foil & bake for another 5 minutes. This browns & crisps the top of the rolls. This step is included in Caren's original recipe. I made these for the second time today (the first was when the recipe was originally posted on Food Network). The recipes are very close to identical - one makes chive & onion creamed cheese & the other you buy it premade. I also used grated swiss cheese this time - much cheaper & as delicious. Both times the sandwiches were devoured. A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States