Sassy Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I was so excited to find a spaghetti recipe that didn't include a great deal of cheese or tomato product, however, this one was not quite right. I added lean ground beef and the bean/corn/beef mixture tasted great. The problems occured when adding it to the spaghetti - the dish was just too dry. My daughter cut hers up and added extra olive oil and said that was better. I may play around with this one and see what I can some up with without adding a bunch of cheese or sauce, but as it is written it was just to dry for my family and it was difficult to get a bite of the mixture and the spaghetti together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I added some canned chipotle tomatoes, sour cream, & mexican cheese. Froze & reheated well for my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Decent dish, but does need additions. I added garlic and diced tomatoes along with peppers. It was good, but still a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I love this dish..And the leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlebrescu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great twist if you are looking for pasta with an extra something special. Not so great as leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made this recipe as written, except that I used a 13 oz box of whole grain spaghetti instead of the 16 oz in the recipe. I also had cooked my own beans, and had just over a pound of them. Even with having less spaghetti and more beans than the recipe called for, there was WAY too much pasta for the amount of bean mix. It was very dry. I ended up adding a bit of sour cream to make it more palatable. I won't try this one again without major adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scarrie22
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I loved the recipe! But I did change it up just a little! I used egg noodles instead of spaghetti noodles. Once I had everything mixed together I baked it. But before I put it in the oven to bake I made a mixture of... 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup of organic light milk, 1/2 cup of light sour cream. I poured that on top. Then after that I sprinkled shredded Mozzarella on top. My husband loved it, it was spicy to his liking! We all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarrie22

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Tastes good but next time I will add some garlic and use less noodles. Not enough sauce for a 16-ounce package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A great pantry classic. I used ½ can each black beans and garbanzo beans leftover from last night, put in a clove of garlic and topped with fresh tomato. I will keep this one in mind when I can find anything in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 Redheads

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My husband gave it an A+. I give it a B. I added tomato sauce, a can of tomatoes, garlic and basil. We served it with Sour Cream. I also reduced the spaghetti by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States