Sassy Shrimp Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
O.k., so this is not a bad recipe, just not really to our tastes, hence the 4 stars. I followed the recipe exactly, except only got 1/2 tsp. orange zest from my one orange and, even halved, the orange flavor overpowered the dish. Also, it was a bit too liquidy. It had a nice zip to it and was healthy which I liked, but if I make this again I will only use 1 cup chicken broth, omit the orange zest and maybe add some fish sauce or teriyaki sauce for more flavor. Oh yeah, the snap peas I used did not cook in the time stated and should be added when the liquid is (or they'll be raw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is the best stir fry recipe that I have ever made. I follow the recipe just as it is. I do make it gluten free though and use Braggs for the soy sauce. We usually change up the vegetable to what we have on hand in the refridgerator. Thank you so much. We have made this numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I thought that this was delicious. It was really easy. I used a bag of frozen stif fry vegetables in place of the vegetables, and I steamed them in the microwave in a zip-lock steam bag. I also cooked the shrimp in the microwave in a steam bag. While the shrimp and veggies were cooking I prepared the sauce. The one mistake that I made was I put in a little too much orange peel. Go light on that part. I felt like this recipe deserved 5 stars, but my family rated it 4, so I figured majority rules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I used extra cabbage, a pound and a half of shrimp, and doubled the sauce. Next time I'll use less sauce and I'll track down some bok choy. also, it would have helped to rinse (wash) the shrimp before cooking. I bought the pre-peeled shrimp and they were a bit slimy. Still quite tasty, I loved the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
did not change a thing --perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Much better than I expected. Made plenty of sauce, enough to feed everyone (and we like to eat!). Used bok choy, red and green peppers, and carrots as veggies. Green onion on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is a really yummy dish! I used chili paste instead of the red chili flakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Made it this past weekened. Came out fantastic! I doubled the recipe for the sauce. Ussed 1lb frozen shrimp and used canned water chestnuts, baby corn, 3 sliced fresh carrots. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Pretty good but nothing special. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Delicious dish! The red pepper flakes gave this dish a szechuan flavor. Next time I plan to add some water chestnuts for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States