Sassy Freezer Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
"Sassy Freezer Slaw" has a wonderful sweet'n'tangy dressing (loved it) and a soft not-so-crunchy texture (loved it) similar to saukerant (owing to salting the cabbage and squeezing out the excess moisture). Two pounds (2 lbs) of flat field cabbage from my farmer's market yielded about 10 cups of fresh-chopped cabbage (reduced by half after squeezing: 4 cups of cabbage + 1 cup of "salty cabbage juice"). I replaced the 2 cups of sugar with 2/3 cup of honey (my adaption) because I am on a restricted diet (specific carbohydrate diet) and the salad was still far too sweet for my husband (who refused to eat it since he does not like sweet food). I myself usually don't like sweet food either; however, I did enjoy this salad which was very sweet even with reduced sweetener. I never froze this salad. The next time I make this salad I will significantly reduce the sweetener again. I think it would be a great salad for family get-togethers. Thank you sassyoldlady for sharing your recipe. [RECIPE GROUP AUGUST 17, 2014]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Who knew you can freeze cole slaw? I just opened one of the containers I froze last week and was happy with the results. I only made half a recipe and started with a bag of cole slaw mix, followed the recipe as written. I tasted it several hours after I made it and it was good, a week plus later after freezing it is still good. The dressing is a bit sweet for my taste but the family thought it is fine. Thank you, Sassy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yummy salad. I had left a small batch in the fridge for dinner tonight. The salad was able to sit for a couple of hours. LOL was only able to get small taste but it was ohh so good. Thank you sassyoldlady for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I just put this in the freezer. I nibbled a bit and I love the dressing! I like the mustard powder in there - it helps off-set the sweetness. I did add a little onion to the slaw. A few of the containers I used will be great for just grabbing for lunch. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...If you like slaw in any form, you're gonna LOVE this! I like that this is made and ready to go in the freezer for a quick side. I halved the recipe and used one 16oz. bag of coleslaw mix (YES, I'm lazy, lol), and that worked perfectly. The dressing is SOOOOO GOOD! Thanks, sass, this is a keeper~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made for Recipe Group 8/17/2014. Back in the '70's I made a simalar salad that we all loved. I thought this was better than I remembered perhaps as the one way back when had green bell pepper in it. Thank you Sassy for a delicious salad that can be made ahead and is always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Easy enough to make and ideal to have on hand or to make ahead of time if you want a non-mayo Slaw and/or might not have fridge space. I thought the dressing favored the sweet as opposed to the sour side as I found the sugar to temper the sharpness of the vinegar (I happen to like vinegar so to someone else it may taste otherwise). I added half a green bell pepper which was plenty and next time will add onion too. After thawing I found the slaw surprisingly to still be crunchy even though freezing and thawing changed that of the original fresh texture, the change was not a negative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States