Sassy Freezer Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Top notch recipe: ingredients and method are right on. I had some leftover cabbage (red and green) and some carrots. I put this in the freezer and two weeks later it was crisp and delicious. Thank you Sasyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This does still have a crunch to it when it comes out of the freezer. DH really liked it. It was too sweet for me though. I would have been fine with 1/4 of the sugar. I liked the method and will try it again with next summer's garden cabbage. I did add a green pepper and would add some onion next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This coleslaw won't make it to the freezer. It might not even make it to dinner as I'm standing next to the counter eating it out of the bowl right now. I cut back on the sugar a little but otherwise made as written. It's only been in the fridge an hour and already tastes awesome. Thanks Sassy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
REVIPE GROUP 8/20/14: Thank you sassyoldlady for saving a better memory of my grandma. She had her version of freezer slaw at every single meal. As a kid, I was not thrilled but had to try a bite of everything:( When this came up on the Buzz there were three heads of cabbage in the garden so I had to give it a shot. We are both so happy with your version. I made a small batch and two days later made a large batch. I thawed two half cup containers two days ago, crispy and still awesome. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Sassy, thank you for sharing this recipe! Loved it! How wonderful to have this available anytime! For some reason, I think cole slaw (dressing) is a pain to make each time I want it and can't tell you how many half bags of slaw I have found in the back of the fridge and tossed. Problems solved! DD doesn't like mayo, so she loved it, too. We were all pleasantly surprised the crunch is still there after freezing. Followed the recipe exactly. Finished what was in the freezer and will reload this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 16, August 2014 ~ Delicious! I'm a few weeks late in making this, but so glad I finally got it done. I made a full batch and we ate half of it the day I made it and froze the other half. Loved the dressing - the vinegar cuts the sweetness for a nice balance. I did add the onions and green peppers to the slaw, and will do so again. My mom used to make a freezer slaw when I was younger. Loved it then and still do! Thanks, sassy, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sassy, I loved this slaw! I only made a half a batch to use what ingredients I had on hand. The only change I may make next time is to hand shred my veggies in lieu of using the food processor, as it shredded them too small for my liking. Thanks for the recipe, Sassy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
"Sassy Freezer Slaw" has a wonderful sweet'n'tangy dressing (loved it) and a soft not-so-crunchy texture (loved it) similar to saukerant (owing to salting the cabbage and squeezing out the excess moisture). Two pounds (2 lbs) of flat field cabbage from my farmer's market yielded about 10 cups of fresh-chopped cabbage (reduced by half after squeezing: 4 cups of cabbage + 1 cup of "salty cabbage juice"). I replaced the 2 cups of sugar with 2/3 cup of honey (my adaption) because I am on a restricted diet (specific carbohydrate diet) and the salad was still far too sweet for my husband (who refused to eat it since he does not like sweet food). I myself usually don't like sweet food either; however, I did enjoy this salad which was very sweet even with reduced sweetener. I never froze this salad. The next time I make this salad I will significantly reduce the sweetener again. I think it would be a great salad for family get-togethers. Thank you sassyoldlady for sharing your recipe. [RECIPE GROUP AUGUST 17, 2014]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Who knew you can freeze cole slaw? I just opened one of the containers I froze last week and was happy with the results. I only made half a recipe and started with a bag of cole slaw mix, followed the recipe as written. I tasted it several hours after I made it and it was good, a week plus later after freezing it is still good. The dressing is a bit sweet for my taste but the family thought it is fine. Thank you, Sassy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yummy salad. I had left a small batch in the fridge for dinner tonight. The salad was able to sit for a couple of hours. LOL was only able to get small taste but it was ohh so good. Thank you sassyoldlady for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States