Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe is almost word for word from one passed down to me from my mom, an original Saskatoon resident. Only difference is instead of 3 T. flour, hers calls for 2 T. quick cooking tapioca. It has never let me down. Oh so good. About to bake one for a family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M-Lewis
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Wonderful and so delicious! Family loves it; we will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Really good basic recipe. Only added a pinch of vanilla powder, a pinch of cinnamon, a very light pinch of nutmeg, and some very light icing sugar on top. Had people asking for seconds after a large meal. Don't forget the vanilla ice-cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Made this with freshly picked saskatoons and it was delicious. As another member mentioned I always add cinnamon, also I almost had to double the recipe for a 9" pie. But that also depends how much filling you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
First time making this using fresh picked berries from our tree. Really great taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe! Not too sweet or too tart,or too runny or too dry; it was just right. Because I had extra saskatoons, I used 5 cups of berries and upped the sugar by another tablespoon, which filled the crust nicely (4 cups wouldn't have been enough). Great recipe, and a nice way to enjoy the fruits of the family activity of going berry picking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joshua Scorgie
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
An excellent pie for any Saskatoon berry lover Rich,and tasty. I didn't add the butter and it still turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Scorgie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stratum
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I read the other reviews and added about a tablespoon of cornstarch, along with 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of salt. I also used the lid of my pOt to strain the liquid into the bowl of dry ingredients, whisked that together, and poured it back into the pot - folding it with the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I thought it turned our beautifully. Hubby was hesitant when giving his rating. I will use this recipe again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
First time I ever tried making saskatoon pie myself, and this is my first review ever on AllRecipes.com and I just wanted to say that this was the best pie I've ever had. Saskatoons are my favorite berries of all time, I grew up eating them. So this pie was perfect as it was, and got eaten up very fast, even when I asked the fam to save some! lol can't find my picture now otherwise I would have posted it too..happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States