Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very good recipe! I tried it today and everyone loves it so I decided to write a review to say thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! Will be making this pie over and over again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobin heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey Siedlecki Krajci
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Being back home in Saskatchewan made it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is my 'go to' Saskatoon pie recipe! I use the recipe as written and it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made the pie using frozen/partly thawed berries. I threw in a couple TB of tapioca to help absorb some of the extra moisture (that frozen berries produce) and the pie was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Perfect for my first ever pie! It was a hit! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckee
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. I added a little cinnamon and used 5 cups of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Awesome recipe! Looked amazing and tasted delicious. cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and it was perfect. not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My family went to a saskatoon berry u-pick farm and came home with a giant bucket full of berries. I had no idea what to do with them, so I came on this site to look for a recipe, and found this one for saskatoon pie. I'm so glad I did, this pie was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site. This pie has a great taste and texture, and there's almost a hint of dark cherry flavour after it's baked. If you have access to saskatoon berries, definitely give this pie a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Loved this recipe, so simple yet so tasty! I used cornstarch instead of flour and added in about a cup of raspberries just before I took the mixture off the stove. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used to pick Saskatoons every summer in Manitoba as I was growing up and Saskatoon pie was a welcomed reward for our efforts in the sand hills. I now live in Southwestern ON and have a Serviceberry Tree as a landscape feature right at our front door. However the birds usually beat me to the berry harvest plucking each one off as it ripens. This year I guarded my tree with a fruit tree netting and got an ice cream pail full of Saskatoons off it yesterday, enough for 5 pies. I was delighted with this recipe and found the berries much more tender, juicy and flavorful than my best childhood memory of Saskatoon Pie. Boiling the berries first made the berries more tender and juicy. The lemon juice enhanced the flavour and seemed to get the natural fruit pectin working, so the pie was not too runny. It is perfect sweetness and very delicious. This Recipe is a keeper! Thanks I'm delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States