Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Spectacular!! I added 2 cups beef broth, and 1 cup freshly brewed dark-roast coffee. I also sprinkled some dry mustard on the meat, along with the salt and pepper. Unbelievable. Try using the broth to make a gravy, and pour over mashed potatoes. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Have done this recipe 3 times now with a 5 lb Boston Butt and it's been a huge hit each time, but with a twist. I start out with a memphis-type rub that has brown sugar, salt, garlic, pepper and cayenne. Rub that on liberally then hickory smoke at about 225 degrees for 2 hours. Take it off the smoker, into the crock pot on low using this recipe. After pulling the pork I use a very small amount of sauce or none at all and serve with the crock pot warm. My tendency is to add too much liquid to the crock pot. The meat will produce its own juice so go easy on the beef broth and coffee. I personally like the coffee. It does seem to add something with the hickory smoke flavor that helps the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Such an easy recipe and with fantastic results! I used Green Mountain Dark Magic coffee and a can of beef broth over a pork roast. I added one onion, sliced, to the bottom of the slow cooker and seasoned the pork with garlic salt, pepper and a bit of seasoning sauce. I was generous with the spices, to make sure all parts of the pork were covered. I cooked it on low for 10 hours, removed the liquid and separated the pork with a fork. The onions basically melted into the pork, adding even more flavor. I put the pork back into the slow cooker and set it on warm while I waited for dinner to start. As for the liquid, I let it cool to remove the fat and then basted the pork as needed while it kept warm in the slow cooker. I cannot wait to have leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I didn't put the coffee in but did add some crushed pepper flakes. I used a different cut of pork. It came out sooo succulent and flavorful!! My husband gave it an A, which is hard to come by! We'll be making it this way in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is great! I always get asked for the recipe whenever I make it! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamma Klaus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Forest City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
The best pulled pork recipe I have ever used. Have used this on many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This has been my go to pork recipe for years! I always get rave reviews when I make it. I recently started seasoning the roast with garlic and creole seasoning in addition to the s&p. Also add one tablespoon of liquid smoke for a really nice authentic smoked pulled pork flavor! It's delightful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
easy and awesome! (added a little liquid smoke and omitted the coffee.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very tender. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Love this with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States