Sardines with Sun-Dried Tomato and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Als1855
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
OMG!!! I've never had sardines and my friends thought I was crazy!!!! This is a tasty, colorful, and light possibility for lunch, as an appetizer, or as a guilt-free late dinner. Even if you have never had sardines before, you should give this a try. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This packs TONS of flavor and is Very acidic and salty. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes for freshness and a pinch of sugar to cut the acid. I also let it sit to meld the flavors together. The flavor packs quite a punch. I think this was just an overload of flavor in my mouth. I think it would be good if the flavor could be spread out somehow, but I have no ideas. This recipe was good to try but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made an allrecipes account just so I can give this 5 stars. Canned sardines never tasted so good! If it's cold out I suggest putting the tin can directly under the broiler for 5 minutes along with the chopped garlic then assembling on your plate as directed. Warmed me right up. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made no changes except to add lime instead of lemon and no crushed pepper cause I'm a baby when it comes to spicy stuff. The cayenne was perfect for me. It really was amazing, I love sardines but having them dressed up like this was just mindblowingly great. And I didn't even have to cook!! Just eat this, I don't know if you'll be okay going back to normal sardines after this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! I doubled this & made per recipe except for leaving out the thyme (don't have it & hate dried!) I ate 1/2 of it on Kashi heart healthy crackers, so this was a totally nutritious meal as well as tasty & filling. The Oscar's brisling sardines are excellent - not fishy & very tiny fish, so you don't have to deal with bones & scales. I loved getting the chewy pieces of tomato & crunch of capers and I will be making this at least weekly. Thanks for such a simple healthy recipe, iloveoliveoil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great fast way to get more sardines into your diet (they are packed with goodness and cost so much less than the salmon everyone seems bent on getting us to eat). I made this and served over mixed green with a dressing made from the olive oil the sardines were packed in and lemon juice. I also added a few pitted and coarsely chopped kalamata olives I had on hand. It was delicious! But of course, I bet it would be a five star amazing recipe with fresh Sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My father-in-law gave us a Costco mega-pack of sardines, and I've always been a little iffy on them (my husband loves them straight out of the can). This turned out delicious! I mixed the sardines, lemon juice and spices with a fork; stirred in the capers, tomatoes and a little more lemon juice and a couple of chopped kalamata olives. We just scooped it onto crackers for a quick lunch. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a quick and easy low carb snack or meal. It's so simple and convenient. The seasonings and lemon complement the sardines very nicely, although I would probably go light on the thyme next time. A little definitely goes a long way with thyme! I added a whole lemon (and wouldn't hesitate to add more) and more crushed red pepper and cayenne because I like a little more spice. I also added paprika and omitted the capers and salt, instead adding about 1/4 cup of pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is going in my easy, healthy dinners for seniors who live alone file. I love to cook but for just me, not so much. I hear my friends say they don' eat very well home alone - no incentive to dirty pots and pans etc. Used Sardines canned in water. Added everything except the pepper flakes, added some diced red onion, and topped it off with a splash of my favorite olive oil. Ate it with Triscuits. Such a tasty, simple way to get my Omega 3's. Will also serve as an appetizer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Easy and delicious! Will make again and again. Served with plain quinoa to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States