Sara's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is really, really good. Downgraded 1 star because I can't call it the "best", but since I can't find my favorite recipe this one will replace it. Note: it made too much filling for 1 deep dish crust so I made 2 pies, not quite full. Next time I'll probably use 2 regular rather than deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yep. It's the best. Honestly, I have never enjoyed pumpkin pie so much as I did this. And, I used my own pumpkin, not canned, and it came out perfect. Not watery in the least. XOXO Joce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The recipe makes 3 whole pies when doubled. I doubled the recipe, but only put 3 cups of evaporated milk in it and it came out just right for moisture content, it took 7 minutes longer on the top/middle rack and 20 minutes longer on the middle/bottom rack than directed. I used the full amount of cloves, but next time I think I will split that amount in half or just leave it out. The pies come out very well set after cooling about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I love pumpkin pie and this one was definately up there in my ratings. Unfortunately I live in an area where pumpkins are unavailable, so I made it with a rather orange squash (you can't have Thanksgiving without pumpkin pie!). The texture and taste was pretty much the same; I used condensed instead of evaporated milk and omitted the cup of sugar completely. It was still a bit sweet but I put hardly any sugar in my whipped cream and that balanced out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum yum yum! Tasty pumpkin pie filling...needed to be cooked a bit longer, but other than that, great! I didbn't have any ground ginger, so I skipped it out and it turned out just fine without it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
One of my hubby's favorite pies. I chose to bake a pumpkin instead of using canned. We taste tested the pumpkin with the sugar and spices before I added eggs and milk and agreed that it needed more spice. I added more cinnamon and nutmeg (Hubby loves nutmeg.) Having tasted the finished pie I think that I'll cut down on some of the sugar next time, because it tasted really sweet. I used foil to cover my crust and it turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was a big hit at a party. I went really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very good pumpkin pie recipe. I do not care for cloves so I eliminated the cloves and allspice and increased the cinnamon to 2 tsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
So yummy I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this pie for Thanksgiving a few years ago, ever since I have been told that I will be making pumpkin pie for Thankgiving and Christmas dinners. This is one of the best punkpkin pie receipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States