Sarah's Spicy Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
There's a lot of stuff that works well about this recipe; there's also a lot that makes it less awesome than it could or should be. My major problem with this recipe is the amount of vague instructions included. Step 1 is fine with me. It's step 2 that just includes a lot of missing information, in my opinion. If the step says to pour " ... the diced tomatoes with chile peppers, stewed tomatoes, kidney beans ..."does that include the juice along with the main contents? My experience has lead to the flavor being a little funky, especially after the kidney bean juices. Moreover, while cooking the meat in those spices is a really pleasant idea, adding four times the spice to the actual liquid component of the chili makes the recipe unpleasantly spicy. I can't be mad about the spicy component (it's in the name of the recipe afterall), but it relies too much on the spice rather than the actual flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This a very tasty soup. I did take into account what other reviewers said and dialed back the spicy spices (chili powder and cayenne) by about half, then added a bit more to taste and desired "hotness." Entire family enjoyed this. Used regular beer and pure lime juice since I didn't have the other as called for in the recipe. Used one soup pot in preparing it. Simply heated the oil, browned the garlic and softened the onions, then browned the turkey and added the other ingredients. Let it cook for approximately 30 minutes on stove top. Turned out yummy with minimal clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have to admit I used this recipe because my name's Sarah and I thought it must be the best out there... I made this dish for my company's chili cookoff and pretty much followed every step. Left out the cayenne because I thought it might be too spicy for the average tongue... just put more paprika. I didn't use the beer but added my own wine/sherry (I like taking a walk on the wild side) and it turned out great. Added cilantro/shredded Mexican cheese about an hour before serving. Paired it with sweet cornbread bites and named it Sweet 'n Spicy (since it was anonymous of course)... everyone was raving about it and I won the cookoff! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I had to write my first review on this recipe. So easy to make and tastes so good. I love spice and this recipe came out very spicy, so not for my kids but i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Awsomee Spicy Chili!!! I would however use 1/2 the salt that the recipe calls for but other than that this was one of my favorite dishes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
It's good, definitely, though I don't think it's anything special and out of the ordinary. I rated a 3 because of everything I changed, though now that I am eating it, a four is in order. Nice heat to it now!! Based on a number of other reviews saying it was too spicy, I cut the spices in half, but then there was no spice at all (I didn't have cayenne on hand, so maybe that was the difference?)! So I then added in the other half, and again didn't think it had much heat (Note: I am not a spice person, so if I think it needed more, it definitely wasn't spicey). So in addition to using all of the spices listed here, there were my modifications: a lot more chili powder, more flower pepper (Trader Joes), more paprika, tad more oregano, added lots of red pepper flakes, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, completely omitted the beer, and added some celery, a couple jalapenos and 3 amarillo chilis. I also used a tad less chicken broth an it was still too watery, so added a couple TBLS of corn startch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a fail proof simple recipe for a nice, low-fat turkey chili. In preparing it I didn't use the called for amount of cayenne pepper and didn't use any black pepper, because I knew my toddler would be eating it with us and that would be too spicy for her liking. No beer on hand and nothing in its place, but the chili remained tasty. I added the rest of a TJ's frozen bag of corn and tossed in some northern beans I had soaked the night before. This was a tasty chili with texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The recipe is a little confusing, adding salt and black pepper twice. Not sure if that's a typo but I would definitely stick with one teaspoon of each, it was EXTREMELY salty with two. We added some Tabasco too, it was HOT but that's the way we like it. If you don't, cut the Cayenne in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was very good, but I cut down on the spices....a lot....after reading other reviews. I skipped the cayane, and only put in about half of the amounts of the other stuff. I also didn't add more salt, pepper, or chile powder when i put the rest of the ingredients in. I didn't feel like getting the crock pot out, so I just cooked in a pot on the stove. I put the ingredients together on Sunday and didn't cook it until tonight (Friday) so I figured the ingredients have had plenty of times to "marry" (haha, I hate that word when used in cooking!) so i only cooked for about an hour. I rated it 4 instead of 5 since I had to cut so much of the spices out. It was really good though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNN16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Was amazing...I made a couple changes added 2 cans of corn (drained) and 3 small cans of tomato sauce..extra can of kidney beans..Ah Mazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States