Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Where we live, you can't buy salsa, so this was a first time experience to try to make it. This recipe was a great starting point and I can add/change ingredients to suit our tastes more. I still haven't found the perfect mix, but I'll keep working at it. It really is easy to make. If I perfect my recipe, I'll still make it from scratch even when we go back to the States - it's that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was pretty good. It seems to be missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Just the flavor i was looking for...very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I was skeptical about using canned tomatoes but it turned out fine. Great basic recipe...made some changes...used 3 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes, (2 plain, 1 with chiles), used a whole onion and 2 cloves of garlic, lime juice instead of lemon, no hot sauce, added a red bell peppper in addition to the jalapeno and definitely salt. Make's a full blender's worth (3 full jars so you can share) Best part is you can just rough chop everything and pulse it a bit, stopping to stir the bottom up every so often. Takes 10 minutes to make. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Wow! I LOVE this salsa. It has a ton of fresh taste, but without much chopping. I wasn't sure whether to de-vein my jalapeno pepper or not, but I did anyway and I thought it still had a nice little kick. I'm making it again this weekend to take to a family 4th of July gathering. It does make a TON so hopefully you have some friends around to help you consume it. Oh, and get a BIG bag of chips. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Great Salsa!! Easy to adapt to your taste. I may add a bit more garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is a good starting point. We used 3 cans of diced tomatoes with green chili's and it made plenty! Good Flavor! Used 5 cloves garlic ans whole yellow onion too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This salsa was a huge hit. I used 3 serrano peppers instead of 1 jalapeno - it had some kick that is for sure! Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Just like in the resturant. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Delicious and easy. I used just one can of the tomatoes and one can of tomatoes w/green chilis. Used a serrano chili instead of jalapeno, and a brown onion instead. Added more fresh cilantro (like that flavoring). And only blended it all for about 5 seconds so it didn't get too soupy. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States