Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had high hopes given all the great reviews, but this salsa really fell short of expectations. It had too much of a canned tomato taste. Maybe I'm spoiled living in CA where authentic Mexican salsa abounds, but I will not bother trying to make this again. My attempts to doctor it up still yielded a less than satisfactory product. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
The first time I made it I found that 1/3c of cilantro is *way* too much and overpowered everything else. I've cut back on the cilantro and instead of a can of tomato/chilies I use a can of diced chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe! It is so easy & tastes really great. I love the taste of salsa but usually face a real dilemma: I hate onions, & it's hard to eat around them with salsa. Now I have a solution- I can make my own & leave out the onions! :) My whole family loved it. I will definitely not be buying jarred salsa anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Made exactly as written, this recipe is missing something. It tasted very bland to me, except for the taste of cilantro. I added salt and a small amount of cider vinegar & sugar. That improved it a little, but for our taste, the cilantro overpowered any other flavor in there. It had a good aftertaste (after the cilantro flavor was gone). Next time I will cut back on the cilantro. I used a food processor instead of a blender and just pulsed it a few times. The consistency was perfect. I will definitely try this again, with some more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Okay. So, I HAD to make this because my name is Sarah and it would be great to have an actual salsa recipe with my name in the title. I used lime juice in the salsa only because we like the taste of that better. I also only used a bit of the tomatoes in the blender with the garlic, cilantro, onion and lime juice and mixed that into the diced tomatoes because we like our salsa chunky. Other than that, I changed nothing else. Really tasty salsa and it only took five minutes. I won't be buying jarred salsa again, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
for quick salsa, this works great! Stir a couple of tablespoons of this salsa in with two avacodos, lemon juice, a little salt and garlic powder and you have really good, quick guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Wonderful taste, very very easy to make....I did change the recipe slightly by roasting both the jalapeno and the onion in the oven for 1/2 hr. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I am currently visiting relatives in the Philippines, so I had to make some substitutions since you can't find certain things here. I used *canned* jalapenos, some random "green pepper sauce" rather than the Tabasco-esque pepper sauce I'm guessing the recipe meant for us to use (had to use a lot more than 3 drops as a result), and the same proportion of diced tomatoes but without green chiles (added some chopped bell pepper to make up for it). When completed as written, the salsa does seem to be "missing something", but it is actually a plus because, as the description states, you can add to taste. I added a few dashes of salt, and a bit extra lemon juice, cilantro, and onion. Finally, I accidentally dumped in a good amount of the liquid the jalapenos were floating in (haha). But hey, it turned out exactly how I like salsa :) My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
YUMMY! The only change I made was I used 2 cans of the tomato green chile because I had no other use for the other 1/2 can. I did drain the second can to keep it from being too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
great salsa! I've made four batches in two weeks, my family can't get enough of it.I did add a little extra garlic and some extra cilantro to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States