Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I needed a good, quick salsa recipe and this one was the perfect starting point for me. I made a few changes based on my own tastes. I used 1 can of regular diced tomatoes and 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (the ones with green chiles). I use lime instead of lemon because that just makes more sense. I use an entire onion, again my taste. 2 or 3 cloves of fresh garlic. No hot sauce because that's just weird in salsa, and I use 1 or 2 serano peppers instead of jalapenos because I think it's a better tasting pepper. I mix this up in a food processor and let sit overnight. It's the only salsa I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Wow!! This is fantastic salsa!! Using a blender is a great idea. The flavor is so delicious and my husband who is NOT a salsa eater, ate a large bowl of this salsa with chips tonight. I could not believe it. I made this recipe as written and was very impressed and satisfied. The ingredients and instructions are simple and it is restaurant quality. I served this with a mexican themed dinner tonight and it was a huge success. My family (except for my husband, until now) enjoys eating salsa and chips for a snack. I have purchased about every brand of jarred salsa but they just don't taste like the salsa at a mexican restaurant. I'm going to keep this as a staple in the fridge and never buy jarred salsa again. Great recipe and thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This is a GREAT salsa. It is easy and fast. I add a can of green chillis and use a can of Rotel tomatoes for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This salsa is very similar to the hot salsa that comes with the chips at the Mexican restaraunts. It is made with canned tomatoes but the cilantro & onion gives it a nice freshness. I also used a hand emulsion blender which made it real quick to make. The only downside is it is a little bit too hot for my taste. I added a pinch of garlic powder and of onion salt, but left out the hot sauce as the green chiles in tomatoes and fresh jalepeno was enough hotness for me. Also it makes a lot of salsa. So, unless your having a party, I would maybe cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This salsa is the best! It's easy to make and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This salsa is the bomb-diggity. If you don't try this easy recipe you're out of your skull...SARAH knows her salsa! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatheeC
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Sarah, I just made this wonderful salsa, and it was wonderful! I left out the onions, added 2 cloves of garlic, and added canned jalapeno peppers. It tastes better than tbe mexican restraunts I go to. No more canned for me! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This turned out EXCELLENT! I've NEVER made salsa before but I tried this and followed the directions step by step only I added a bit more garlic & only 1/2 of a jalepeno pepper and it was so YUMMY! The fresh cilantro made it that much better! Thank you SO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I confess I mainly wanted to try Sarah's Salsa because my name is Sarah but it ended up being great salsa. I've made it several times now and have yet to find a salsa recipe my husband and I enjoy more than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Very Good! My husband is thankful. He loves homemade salsa. This was so easy to make and only took about 10 minutes. I'm adding this to my recipe collection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States