Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Delicious and easy. I used just one can of the tomatoes and one can of tomatoes w/green chilis. Used a serrano chili instead of jalapeno, and a brown onion instead. Added more fresh cilantro (like that flavoring). And only blended it all for about 5 seconds so it didn't get too soupy. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Awesome salsa! has the same texture and flavor as the salsa that they serve at Mexican Restaurants. I added an extra jalapeno, only put in one can of the diced tomatos with the green chiis, and added a little salt. Will be making this again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I needed a good, quick salsa recipe and this one was the perfect starting point for me. I made a few changes based on my own tastes. I used 1 can of regular diced tomatoes and 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (the ones with green chiles). I use lime instead of lemon because that just makes more sense. I use an entire onion, again my taste. 2 or 3 cloves of fresh garlic. No hot sauce because that's just weird in salsa, and I use 1 or 2 serano peppers instead of jalapenos because I think it's a better tasting pepper. I mix this up in a food processor and let sit overnight. It's the only salsa I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Quick... EASY... and GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This salsa is SO good. I've made it twice already and am going to make it again tonight. I've stuck to the recipe on everything but the type of tomatoes - I've used a variety of canned (i think having some crushed and then the diced with chiles in there tastes good) and fresh. I also didn't add any hot sauce. We like it mild. And I don't blend until completely smooth. But it is pretty smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was just ok. I actually liked the consistancy, but the flavor was missing something. Made it exactly as it reads with name brand tomatoes, but it tasted canned. The next day I added 2 tsp of chili powder, a bit more garlic, and antother jalepeno, which helped. This does make A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Excellent!! Far better than the salsa in any of the chain Mexican Restaurants I've ever been in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Usually I like a chunkier salsa, so I was skeptical of the blending till smooth part, but it turned out perfect. This is a great recipe and I can see that it's really versatille. The only thing I changed was I chopped up a hot pepper, and threw that in instead using hot sauce. Next time I think I would add both and a bit more cilantro and lime juice instead of lemon. Also it does make a pretty big amount so it was perfect for the party I was hosting, but I don't know if I could eat that all between a couple of people in a short period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Wow what a hit. This is the best salsa recipe we've tasted in a long time. I added 1 serrano pepper, used frozen chopped onions (lazy way, no chopping), and used 1 can of hot and 1 can of original tomatoes with chili peppers. It gives it a nice bit. I've seen the tomatoes in mild too. It's just preference. It's our new favorite, so much better than the name brand salsa. Thanks Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States