Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This salsa was amazing! It was just the recipe I was looking for...tastes just like my favorite Mexican restaurant's salsa. I think maybe slightly less garlic may be better. I was still tasting garlic the next day. Makes a lot but we went through it in a day and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was pretty tastey. I used lime juice instead of lemon and added extra onion and a tsp of salt. It would be good with some fresh tomato mixed in with the canned. I think a finely chopped green pepper would be a nice addition also. After reading the warnings about blending it too much...I blended it in small batches to get the consistency right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Where we live, you can't buy salsa, so this was a first time experience to try to make it. This recipe was a great starting point and I can add/change ingredients to suit our tastes more. I still haven't found the perfect mix, but I'll keep working at it. It really is easy to make. If I perfect my recipe, I'll still make it from scratch even when we go back to the States - it's that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was pretty good. It seems to be missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Just the flavor i was looking for...very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I was skeptical about using canned tomatoes but it turned out fine. Great basic recipe...made some changes...used 3 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes, (2 plain, 1 with chiles), used a whole onion and 2 cloves of garlic, lime juice instead of lemon, no hot sauce, added a red bell peppper in addition to the jalapeno and definitely salt. Make's a full blender's worth (3 full jars so you can share) Best part is you can just rough chop everything and pulse it a bit, stopping to stir the bottom up every so often. Takes 10 minutes to make. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Wow! I LOVE this salsa. It has a ton of fresh taste, but without much chopping. I wasn't sure whether to de-vein my jalapeno pepper or not, but I did anyway and I thought it still had a nice little kick. I'm making it again this weekend to take to a family 4th of July gathering. It does make a TON so hopefully you have some friends around to help you consume it. Oh, and get a BIG bag of chips. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Great Salsa!! Easy to adapt to your taste. I may add a bit more garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is a good starting point. We used 3 cans of diced tomatoes with green chili's and it made plenty! Good Flavor! Used 5 cloves garlic ans whole yellow onion too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This salsa was a huge hit. I used 3 serrano peppers instead of 1 jalapeno - it had some kick that is for sure! Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States