Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I get tons of requests for this recipe. I put everything but the tomatoes in the blender and blend till smooth and add two of each canned tomatoes and blend till mixed but still chunky. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was surprised at how delicious this was. You can tell there's canned tomatoes in there (which isn't a bad thing), but with all the fresh ingredients added, it's really good. I used one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of Italian tomatoes (all I had, lol) and half a green bell pepper in place of the jalepeno- I like it pretty mild. Doubled the garlic, and used 1/4 of a small red onion. Used lime juice instead of lemon and added more cilantro. Didn't use the blender; just used my immersion blender to break up the stewed tomatoes. I like it chunky. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
GREAT!!!!!!!!!! This is by far the best recipe for salsa. This is a "must try" recipe. You will not be sorry. THANKS SARAH!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This salsa was amazing! It was just the recipe I was looking for...tastes just like my favorite Mexican restaurant's salsa. I think maybe slightly less garlic may be better. I was still tasting garlic the next day. Makes a lot but we went through it in a day and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was pretty tastey. I used lime juice instead of lemon and added extra onion and a tsp of salt. It would be good with some fresh tomato mixed in with the canned. I think a finely chopped green pepper would be a nice addition also. After reading the warnings about blending it too much...I blended it in small batches to get the consistency right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Where we live, you can't buy salsa, so this was a first time experience to try to make it. This recipe was a great starting point and I can add/change ingredients to suit our tastes more. I still haven't found the perfect mix, but I'll keep working at it. It really is easy to make. If I perfect my recipe, I'll still make it from scratch even when we go back to the States - it's that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was pretty good. It seems to be missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Just the flavor i was looking for...very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I was skeptical about using canned tomatoes but it turned out fine. Great basic recipe...made some changes...used 3 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes, (2 plain, 1 with chiles), used a whole onion and 2 cloves of garlic, lime juice instead of lemon, no hot sauce, added a red bell peppper in addition to the jalapeno and definitely salt. Make's a full blender's worth (3 full jars so you can share) Best part is you can just rough chop everything and pulse it a bit, stopping to stir the bottom up every so often. Takes 10 minutes to make. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Wow! I LOVE this salsa. It has a ton of fresh taste, but without much chopping. I wasn't sure whether to de-vein my jalapeno pepper or not, but I did anyway and I thought it still had a nice little kick. I'm making it again this weekend to take to a family 4th of July gathering. It does make a TON so hopefully you have some friends around to help you consume it. Oh, and get a BIG bag of chips. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States