Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
not the best, i did everything how it said to make it except i used 2 jalepenos instead of one. I like salsa thats spicy. It might be just because i dont like tomatoes. (it calls for lots of tomatoes!) And also the cilantro does not taste good in this! I do not recomend if you like spicy salsa, and or do not like tomatoes very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was sooo easy. I will be honest, when it was finished, I tried it and was insanely disappointed. I put it in the fridge and gave it another chance the next day. SOO GOOD! Only downside is that it has to wait and chill before being so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this with our tacos. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The family loved this salsa. Everyone said it tastes just like a Mexican restraunts. Next time I will drain some of the juice from the tomatoes, it gets a little watery after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Even with all the praise this recipe has earned I was not expecting to get a product this PERFECT from home - and using canned tomatoes at that! I love love LOVE salsa in mexican restaurants and while not the best I've ever tasted, this is so close to it I have no need nor desire to try and find another recipe. I feel the key to the this is using FRESH onions, jalepenos, and cilantro. It just transforms the tomatoes, I've tasted the salsa blend at just tomatoes and after adding the produce and the difference is stark. I personally leave out the hot pepper sauce and garlic. EXODUSMOM, you have transformed my kitchen and cost Pace hundreds of dollars in revenue: thanks so very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had high hopes given all the great reviews, but this salsa really fell short of expectations. It had too much of a canned tomato taste. Maybe I'm spoiled living in CA where authentic Mexican salsa abounds, but I will not bother trying to make this again. My attempts to doctor it up still yielded a less than satisfactory product. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
The first time I made it I found that 1/3c of cilantro is *way* too much and overpowered everything else. I've cut back on the cilantro and instead of a can of tomato/chilies I use a can of diced chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe! It is so easy & tastes really great. I love the taste of salsa but usually face a real dilemma: I hate onions, & it's hard to eat around them with salsa. Now I have a solution- I can make my own & leave out the onions! :) My whole family loved it. I will definitely not be buying jarred salsa anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Made exactly as written, this recipe is missing something. It tasted very bland to me, except for the taste of cilantro. I added salt and a small amount of cider vinegar & sugar. That improved it a little, but for our taste, the cilantro overpowered any other flavor in there. It had a good aftertaste (after the cilantro flavor was gone). Next time I will cut back on the cilantro. I used a food processor instead of a blender and just pulsed it a few times. The consistency was perfect. I will definitely try this again, with some more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Okay. So, I HAD to make this because my name is Sarah and it would be great to have an actual salsa recipe with my name in the title. I used lime juice in the salsa only because we like the taste of that better. I also only used a bit of the tomatoes in the blender with the garlic, cilantro, onion and lime juice and mixed that into the diced tomatoes because we like our salsa chunky. Other than that, I changed nothing else. Really tasty salsa and it only took five minutes. I won't be buying jarred salsa again, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States