Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Great Salsa! And very easy to adjust to your family's personal taste. The first time, I made it exactly as written. It was good but a little spicy for my family as I have 2 children under the age of 10 yrs. The next time I adjusted the spices & heat level (2 Tbsp cilantro, 1/2 jalapeno, no hot sauce) so that the salsa was a little milder. more tomato-e tasting. My hubby & kids raved & insisted I make more! This is a keeper! I plan to have this around instead of the jar stuff. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This salsa is very similar to the hot salsa that comes with the chips at the Mexican restaraunts. It is made with canned tomatoes but the cilantro & onion gives it a nice freshness. I also used a hand emulsion blender which made it real quick to make. The only downside is it is a little bit too hot for my taste. I added a pinch of garlic powder and of onion salt, but left out the hot sauce as the green chiles in tomatoes and fresh jalepeno was enough hotness for me. Also it makes a lot of salsa. So, unless your having a party, I would maybe cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I used cherry tomatoes from the garden and added a can of "three bean salad" from Aldi (seasoned Mexican-style). I made it without the ribs or seeds of the jalapeno but it wasn't spicy enough so next time the whole thing is going in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Yum! Very easy & loved that the recipe used canned tomatoes! Very Good will be making ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was so good and easy! I used lime instead of lemon and added a couple of shakes of red pepper. My kids loved it and my oldest son (13) said it was much better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Easy, fast and AMAZING salsa!!! I followed the recipe except I added Cumin. Some reviews for other salsa recipes recommended it and they are right, you can just smell why Cumin is a must!!! Thanks for the post, like many others, I'm done buying salsa in jars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Soooo easy to make and delicious too! I have been using this recipe for years and it is high time to review it! I make it according to the directions, but do not blend it. I use an onion chopper that I have so everything gets thrown in and is diced together instead of making it smooth. I use a smaller sized Jalepeno pepper and it is the perfect amount. This recipe is just too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
canned toms in salsa is a new concept for me. what a great idea for homemade salsa during the winter. i added some cumin, more garlic, a little salt, and sugar. to me, salsa is like mexican rice. everyone has their own taste so use this as a base and adjust to your liking. i will be making salsa w/ canned toms from now on during the non growing season. i did use bottled lemon juice which worked fine but i would suggest lime. i didnt need the hot sauce but i left a lot of the ribs in my peppers for heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
VERY simple to make... great flavor. I followed this recipe, making a few changes as others suggested. Depending on your level of handling spicyness... you may want to add half of a serrano pepper instead of a whole one. I chopped up a whol eserrano, leaving the seeds along with it and it had quite a bit of a kick (next time I will use half). I also used 2 limes, great flavor! Leaving it in the fridge overnight definately enhanced the overall flavor. I will use this recipe over and over from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Very easy to toss together and is loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knoxlette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States