Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I changed up the seasonings a bit. I used kosher salt, pepper and garlic powder. I then added a half can of Rotel instead of tomato sauce with a half pound of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Arellano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Instead of plain water, I had tomato bouillon (Knorr makes a good one) that you can find in the Mexican Food Aisle of the grocery store. It's great for making Mexican Rice too. I followed the rest of the recipe and the filling turned out very tasty. Much better tacos than ground beef, in my opinion! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I added more of the seasonings plus added some ground cumin. Otherwise, I liked the recipe. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Three Pack
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made a batch of the chicken exactly as stated in the recipe and it was good. Simple and fast. I'm not a big fan of tomato sauce, so I made another batch and half ed the amount of tomato sauce, added 2 tbs of herdez mild salsa, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and a dash of salt. This was a little more to our liking because of the less tomato sauce. Still a great recipe as is, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Pack

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Super easy, I tweaked it a little and added a bit of my taco kit's spices and only had tomato juice- but the basics are right on. Chicken Tacos are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I boiled the chicken. Then while it was cooling off I Added Rotel with diced tomatoe and jalepeno to a pan with some vegetable oil and taco seasoning. Skipped the cummins. Then shredded the chicken and added that to the mix with some water. Bommmmmmmb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Labore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
5 stars for an easy way to shred chicken but I used Taco seasoning I instead of the seasoning in this recipe. Didn't think I could shred a chicken without my slow cooker! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is a great base recipe to go in any direction with. I added extra seasonings, similar to many others: more chili powder & cumin, paprika, oregano, savory, black pepper. Also 2 pressed cloves of garlic, diced colored peppers, tossed in some canned rinsed black beans and 1/2c. chicken broth, splash of strong coffee, dash of worchestershire, then made my flavour twist with 1/4c. smoky BBQ sauce. A drizzle of maple syrup completed my dinner direction of delicious shredded chicken sitting on lettuce on a toasted bun topped with cheddar & a green salad on the side. This would also be tasty in a bowl with assorted toppings and using tortilla chips to scoop up, as a snack idea. Letting it simmer on low is the key to flavour. Be as fancy as you like or as time permits! I believe most recipes are guidelines only! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deroche, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used Cajun seasoning in place of the cumin and picante sauce instead of plain tomato sauce. I believe this would have been a lot morebland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
You can also boil everything together and let the water boil off - letting the meat shred itself while boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States