Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I now keep a jar of this dry rub in my spice cabinet so I have it handy, it is so good. I use it on more than chicken, it is a great rub on pork tenderloin as well. It makes a perfect rub for a rotisserie chicken, better than any store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe for roasted chicken! What a wonderful blend of herbs and spices! I rubbed the chicken and let it marinate for a full 24 hours which I highly recommend. Perfect for Sunday dinner. Thanks for a great recipe Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Very good rub but do not put too much of it on...and also this recipe definitely need to be marinated otherwise the flavors of the rub do not really get into the chicken. Omit pepper if you do not like it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
GREAT dry rub for chicken! the only thing I left out was the onion because I didn't have any on hand and I was short on time, so instead of letting it marinade for a few hours I rubbed on & baked. It turned out really flavorful and the drippings made for an excellent gravy. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We enjoyed this rub on a chicken and some sliced, roasted potatos. I would probably adjust for taste if we used it again, decreasing the sage and coriander a bit. One onion was enough for a 4.5lb chicken cook time was definitely more than 1.5 hours. I would probably increase the temperature a little in the future for a crispier skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was very good. I did not have enough cayenne pepper nor did I have any onion powder, (used dried onion flakes), garlic powder, (used garlic salt and omitted sea salt) nor did I have any paprika. But this still turned out really good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Left out the cayenne and rubbed this into chicken thighs then grilled them. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this created a wonderful rub, my husban is not much of a chicken eater......but it was the first thing cleared from his plate. he loved it. which mean he will be having it often. I used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken because we are only too and i hate to waste food. thank you so much for a great recipe. i will be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Wonderful chicken! I'm rating the spice blend itself and not the cooking method. I didn't change any of the measurements of the spices and it turned out wonderful. I coated boneless skinless chicken breasts with olive oil and then sprinkled the dry rub on liberally. I then drizzled more olive oil on top. I baked these at 400 degrees for 30 minutes and had tasty, tender and juicy chicken. Thanks for a great recipe Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
will be making this tonight, but wanted to start writing my review as to what i changed in the spice mix... i halved the mix (which is plenty still). didn't have enough parsley so i used some marjoram and rosemary as well, not enough thyme so i used Italian seasoning to make up the difference, hot chili powder instead cayenne and added 1/2-1 tsp. ground fennel seeds. can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States