Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
wow the seasoning blend was awesome! i cut the recipe in half and used it on a 5 lb chicken.. i made sure to rub the mix under the skin and on top.. we cooked this on the grill and split the chicken down the middle so we obviously didn't use the garlic or onion.. i didn't have dried parsley so i left it out and used kosher salt for sea salt.. i used ground sage and ground thyme so i only put 1/8 tsp each.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
"Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken" is the perfect meal in the category of "quick and easy" although it does take time to cook. It was very tasty. I had 9 tablespoons of spice mixture, which I think is enough to make this recipe at least 4 times. I cut my chicken open along the spine and laid it out flat in my open enameled cast-iron pan, and it browned up very nicely this way. I will be inclined to throw some potatoes and carrots underneath it next time. Thank you Sarah for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is an amazing rub! I tried it on our beercan chicken roaster and it came out wonderful! We used apple cider instead of beer for the roaster and this rub and it was simply divine! Loved it! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this rub today for our Christmas Chicken and its soooooo delicious. What I did different is I cooked my roaster chicken in a bag. IT Turned out super juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Recipe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Oh my goodness this is good! I wasn't able to use every ingredient, but what I did have worked great! I put 1 tbsp of everything (except cayenne, celery seed and coriander). I only have smoked paprika and wanted to be careful with the heat; also I used only 1 tsp sea salt. It only got to rest with the rub for about an hour, then into a 375 oven for one hour and 15 minutes. Then turned the heat down to 350 for about 15 more minutes. The flavor this rub gives the chicken, perfect herbs and spices, is delicious! I have made many roasted chickens and used other rubs, with some of the same ingredients, but this combination topped them all! I will definitely make this over and over. Thank you Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I use this recipe alot when I put a whole chicken in the crock pot. Gives great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I only made the rub, so my review is based on that portion only. I made a half batch and rubbed a bone-in turkey breast and cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hours (first hour on high, then low the remaining time). My husband can not have powdered garlic or onion but can have real onion and garlic. I rubbed the breast with garlic infused olive oil, then used the rub. I cut a large onion and additional garlic cloves and put them in and around the breast. Both my husband and DS commented how good it was! I used the leftover turkey to make a pot pie and it was just as well received! Thank you! I will definitely use this rub again in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These were the best roasted pumpkin seeds I have ever had. I think the secret is roasting them at a low temp for a long time turning often. You can add whatever seasoning you like. I put the seeds in a bowl with all of the ingredients’ and marinate in the fridge until I get the 3 cups. I think this brought out moor of the flavor. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was great. Didn't use all the rub and it was a 5.5 lb chick. Could only get 1/2 an onion in it. Definitely cook at least 12 min.a lb. Which is what I do for a free range turkey. You'd think a small chick. would be less. Anyhow I kept it in the refer over night. And served it to guests..serve experiments to the guests! LOL. I did the first 10 min at 450 and had the breast up and after the 10 min turned it over and turned the oven down to 350...so the breast was down. More moist that way. It was flavorful and moist! A very good recipe and I am picky! I will do it again and again and again!Well when I remember to do it the night before! I would recommend "soaking"it over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
One of the BEST dry chicken rubs....This recipe is a keeper. We used a whole chicken in our rotisserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States