Sarah's Chili Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I downgraded the amount of chili powder because all I have is Indian chili powder (hotter than Mexican) and because my other half can't take too much heat, and it made an excellent batch of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I substituted white sugar for the brown and left out the cinnamon. I also added a bit of ancho chili powder as well. Great combo of ingredients! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Better than the store bought packages and I know exactly what was in it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Oh man this had to have been the best pot of chili I have ever made and I'm pretty sure it had a lot to do with this mix :) For some reason the onion powder is listed twice in 2 different amounts. I'm just guessing a typo so I used 4 tsp. of onion powder and 2 tsp. of dried onion flakes. Also wondering how you are supposed to incorporate 2 whole bay leaves into a seasoning mix. I still threw one into my chili pot though. This is a fabulous mix and I will use it EVERY time a make chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Fantastic recipe as it is. I, however, don't like cumin, so I omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
We add a pinch of cocoa powder and reduce chili powder by abt half. No more packets in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I made it exactly as written without the bay leaf only because I forgot. I don't think it's all that hot. To me it was more of a mild medium mix. I know that depends on personal taste. I like hot and spicy things so it wasn't hot to me at all. I was wondering how much to use in a batch of chili because it didn't really say. So I used all of it and that was perfect. It seems like a lot compared to a store bought packet but it's not. The chili was perfectly seasoned using all of it. For those of you looking for make it'd yourself mix there is a taco seasoning recipe on allrecipes that is really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is easy to mix up and so much healthier and better than the store bought prepackaged mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Recently made chili with this seasoning mix. It was out of this world delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
added red pepper flakes but otherwise yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chili Powder

See what chili powder with an “i” does best!

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States