Sarah's Chili Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Recently made chili with this seasoning mix. It was out of this world delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Onion powder is listed twice. Is this correct, a typo or is there truly supposed to be 6 teaspoons of onion powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I made it exactly as written without the bay leaf only because I forgot. I don't think it's all that hot. To me it was more of a mild medium mix. I know that depends on personal taste. I like hot and spicy things so it wasn't hot to me at all. I was wondering how much to use in a batch of chili because it didn't really say. So I used all of it and that was perfect. It seems like a lot compared to a store bought packet but it's not. The chili was perfectly seasoned using all of it. For those of you looking for make it'd yourself mix there is a taco seasoning recipe on allrecipes that is really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I liked the idea of being able to diy chili seasoning, however, I did not take the "chili" flavor as one would experience using store bought chili seasoning. There was a flavor missing. Not sure what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
We add a pinch of cocoa powder and reduce chili powder by abt half. No more packets in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Fantastic recipe as it is. I, however, don't like cumin, so I omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I downgraded the amount of chili powder because all I have is Indian chili powder (hotter than Mexican) and because my other half can't take too much heat, and it made an excellent batch of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Oh man this had to have been the best pot of chili I have ever made and I'm pretty sure it had a lot to do with this mix :) For some reason the onion powder is listed twice in 2 different amounts. I'm just guessing a typo so I used 4 tsp. of onion powder and 2 tsp. of dried onion flakes. Also wondering how you are supposed to incorporate 2 whole bay leaves into a seasoning mix. I still threw one into my chili pot though. This is a fabulous mix and I will use it EVERY time a make chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Better than the store bought packages and I know exactly what was in it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I substituted white sugar for the brown and left out the cinnamon. I also added a bit of ancho chili powder as well. Great combo of ingredients! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Powder

See what chili powder with an “i” does best!

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States