Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fabulous applesauce! Used 3 gala and 3 macs in slow cooker. Just omitted water and it came out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Not much of a cook, I never thought to make applesauce from scratch. Trying to follow a "clean" eating plan so this fit right in and I couldn't believe how easy and fast! Replaced sugar with coconut sugar and it was terrific! I will never buy jar sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I use this recipe every year and add it in muffins, for my boyfriend's birthday. It is delicious and tasty every time! I use Granny Smith apples, because of their sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
PERFECT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used 5 small Honeycrisp apples that had passed my high standard for crunchiness! I peeled, roughly chopped and added 3/4c of water as directed, I added a few more tablespoons, which it turns out was not necessary. I added the cinnamon but no sugar and it was great. I barely mashed them, leaving lots of chunks. While I probably won't make this in general, I will use it every time I have a few apples that otherwise would be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The recipe is great with Granny Smith - the right amount of water, but cut the sugar back at least half. Made the second time with Gala, and could have eliminated most or all of the sugar (only used half, and was still too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I tripled this and put it in the crockpot. Instead of cinnamon I used pumpkin spice and my whole family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Unbelievably easy. I had a recipe for Tropical Grilled Pork Chops. (See Allrecipe....so delicious!) but did not have any canned applesauce so made some with Sarah's Recipe. Perfect and obviously a lot healthier. I did drain off most of the water used to cook the apples before mashing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllOurEggs.com
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I had leftover apples from stockings so I made one batch with one change. When I cut the apples I left the skin on them - they are the most nutrient-packed part of the apple. The skin becomes so soft they just mold right into the applesauce. Just like the skin of a potato, the skin of an apple is the best part - good for your lungs and brain - preventing cancer and controlling weight. Rethink peeling your apples folks. I also used one less tablespoon of sugar and they were plenty sweet. The sweetness will depend on what kind of apples you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Every winter we get a big bag of apples through a fundraiser, and last year I followed this recipe exactly. This is a pretty good recipe to start with, but I agree with the others that it needed less water and sugar than called for (hence one star off). But I think that is partly preference and partly the kind and/or size of apples you use, so some might find this recipe okay as is. Play around with it a bit. This year I cut up extra apples (4 medium ones and 2 very small ones), which was about 920g once it was peeled and chopped into 1-2 cm cubes. Since I added extra apple, I kept the water the same (3/4 cup) but still halved the sugar (about 2 Tbsp), intending to add more sugar later after I taste tested it. In the end it didn't need any more sugar since my apples were plenty sweet to begin with. I also don't like a ton of cinnamon in my applesauce, so instead of 1/2 tsp as written (like I did last year), this year I just put in a couple of dashes, which was just right for my taste. I cooked it covered on medium heat for about 15 min or a little more, stirring every five min or so. And since I like my applesauce without chunks, I pureed it with an immersion blender. (I pureed it while it was still hot so I could taste test and add sugar if needed, and let it cool after I was done meddling with it.) It produced about 3 cups of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States