Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I just made this recipe, just like the recipe said, man oh man, was it awful..........GOOD! We used to play that joke on my mom when we were kids. I will never buy applesauce again, what a treat. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I make it all the time with organic Fuji or Gala apples and add the cinnamon but not the sugar. Would have rated it a 5 except for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe. I only put 1/8 sugar in and added some more water the second time around. The original recipe is wonderful, but I wanted to make it a little on the healthier side and took out some of the sugar added more water and added more cinnamon. Overall the original recipe is delicious is really just depend on how you like your apple sauce (waterym thicker etc....). After making this recipe I will never again buy pre-packaged applesauce again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I have been wanting to make applesauce for ages but always thought it too time consuming. But when I actually looked into it I of course realized I was wrong. I also found that there were as many ways to make it as there were recipes. I chose this recipe because it used the simplest of ingredients and in my humble opinion applesauce should be simple. I had about 2 dozen or so apples that needed to find a new purpose so I quadrupled the recipe except for the sugar as I was using my two favorite kinds, Red Delicious and Golden Delicious, which are sweet on their own. I only added a little under 3/4c sugar. Well it turned out perfect! By the time it cooled enough to be jarred my daughters had eaten a quarter of it. Thanks for the best recipe. Will be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
A Five Star Recipe! The family loved Sarah's applesauce! Super easy to make and purely delicious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had a bunch of apples that I was going to throw out and my boyfriend convinced me to make apple sauce. Yummm!!! So easy and sooooo good. Doubled the recipe and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Added a touch of nutmeg. Next time I'll use less sugar cause it didn't need so much. Gonna add the sauce to my oatmeal for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I love it although the first time I used a 1/4 cup of cinnamon. Oops hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe!! The apples I used were a bit on the sweet side to start with so I did use a little less sugar then noted. It seemed a little watery and hard to mush up by hand so I threw it in the blender. It came out perfect!!! My picky little girls that won't eat store bought applesauce LOVED it!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Super easy and really tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Lost a star because it's too much water. I doubled the recipe with apples we picked this weekend. I ended up bailing out about 3/4 cup liquid before I mashed the apples. Next time, I'll use APPLE CIDER! YUM! That would make this even better. I could probably reduce the sugar that way too. This was a great base recipe but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States