Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I will never buy store bought apple sauce again :) it's so tasty!! I didn't even have to mash it, just stirred a few times while it was cooling off. Next time I'm definitely doubling or tripling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used very tart (read: downright sour) Granny Smith apples and brown sugar instead of white. The amount of water and spice was spot on. I think most people would have sweetened it more, but I like to be able to taste the apple in my applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious! I've taken a few liberties with the water-to-apple ratio, and I even made a batch in which I used some Granny Smiths, a couple of MacIntosh, a couple of Golden Delicious, and a few Asian Pears, just because it's what I had on hand. I find myself rarely adding sugar to the recipe though, just some cinnamon, and occasionally ground nutmeg. It really makes it taste like apple pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very nice; versatile as to type of apples, pre-prep and cooking method. Still turns out well, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the first time I've ever made applesauce. The whole family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, doubled it, and it took me about 30 minutes for my apples to be soft. Then I just threw them all into my vitamix blender and pulsed it a few times. I used gala apples. We put it in the fridge overnight and had it for breakfast. It was perfect. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely use it again :). If I had anything to add, it would be that after a small bowl of this, I felt a little "sweeted out". At first bite I didn't think it was overly sweet at all but after a whole bowl, I really started tasting the sugar so maybe next time I'll try it with a little less, I'm sure that's just personal preference though :). Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Make this applesauce a lot in the fall! Always goes fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Loved it but substituted Splenda for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My compliments to the person who submitted this, no more store bought applesauce for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made this today! 28 apples, 3 cups water, 1 cup sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon. Used my immersion blender at the end. Canned 4 quarts from this. It was an excellent recipe! Will now be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Amazing delicious easy. I always quadruple the recipe because I get bucket loads of apples. Sometimes I add extra sugar and spice, sometimes I leave it pretty plain and let the apples shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States