Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time making applesauce and it was delicious! I doubled the recipe (I had 9 Gala apples starting to soften so I used all of them); however, I only used 1/4 cup white sugar and about 1 tablespoon brown sugar. In addition, I used 1 teaspoon of Epicure's Apple Pie spice - just to add that little extra flavour. I cooked it for about 30-40 minutes (until it reached the desired consistency, and I occasionally stirred the apples as it was cooking). I was never a fan of store bought applesauce but I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this in my crock pot and it turned out amazing! I had five apples that were going bad so I decided to test this recipe. I peeled and cut the apples and tossed them in the water in the slow cooker. I added the sugar and cinnamon on top of the apples. I set my slow cooker on low for 4 hours and when I came home from work I mashed the apples with a fork and turned the cooker on high. I continued to mash periodically for a couple more hours and once it was the thickness I liked I unplugged the cooker and let it sit for about an hour before canning. I didn't adjust the sugar or spice amount to account for the extra apple and it still turned out perfect. I filled one 12oz jar and had some left over (which I ate as soon as it was chilled). My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kownz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
can we say amazing i modified: gala apples, 1/8c homemade chai mix and 1/4 c raw aguave. everyone was IN LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Excellent, but I had to cut back on the amount of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the recipe that I use every time I make my applesauce. I use 20 granny smith apples. I boil it on the stove and it's done in no time at all. I love using granny smith apples because they become just the right amount of sweetness, and taste better than other apples I have used. I share my apple sauce with everyone so it goes very quickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I make this all the time. Soooooo delicious warm, with a bit of vanilla ice cream on top! TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Made this applesauce with my son. Substituted apple juice for the water but kept the rest of the recipe the same. Used Macintosh apples and it came out delicious! Will definitely make it again on a larger scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Yum! I doubled the recipe and it also turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Agius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Easy to make, made exactly as written. I mashed and threw into my blender for a puree. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was amazing with the mushed apples and the cinnamon..Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States