Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Im 12 and I love to cook and learn about were food comes from. Me and my famiy are going to the orchard today to pick apples. We are going to make this recipe. It looks so good i am tempted to eat my computer screen!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good, really simple. I used honey crisp apples so I cut down the sugar a little and I cooked in the crock pot so I didn't have to touch it. I tried it on low at first but after 4 hours, it was still crunchy so I cranked it up to high for another 2 hours. I probably shouldn't have gone so long but I had to leave the house so I wasn't watching it. Next time, I think 3 - 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low. Also, since I did in the crock pot, I didn't need as much water. I think I used about half a cup and still had too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Jessup
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Probably tripled the batch, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jessup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Absolutely outstanding flavor and very, very easy to make. My wife loved it and we finished it all within 48 hours!! Excellent recipe and a great argument for never buying jarred apple sauce again. Best of all, you can play with the sugar content as your apples vary in sweetness. This one is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
CAN THIS BE CANNED? FOR HOW LONG? I TAKE IT THAT IT MUST BE REFRIGERATED IF CANNED CORRECT. I LOVE THE COMBINATION OF APPLES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I like my applesauce chunky, so I always make it at home, using a variety of apples like this - definitely with a MacIntosh unless they look bad in the store. I rarely add water - maybe a tablespoon - and never sugar. If the apples seem to need sugar for flavor, I use a little lemon juice. I also microwave rather than cooking on the stove - no scorching, although you have to watch so they don't overflow. My family likes a whole cinnamon stick cooked with it, not just ground cinnamon. Main complaint with this recipe is the unnecessary amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I discovered this recipe several years ago, and it is delicious. I used Rome apples and substituted Splenda for sugar. Also increased the amount of cinnamon, because of my personal preference. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time making applesauce and it was delicious! I doubled the recipe (I had 9 Gala apples starting to soften so I used all of them); however, I only used 1/4 cup white sugar and about 1 tablespoon brown sugar. In addition, I used 1 teaspoon of Epicure's Apple Pie spice - just to add that little extra flavour. I cooked it for about 30-40 minutes (until it reached the desired consistency, and I occasionally stirred the apples as it was cooking). I was never a fan of store bought applesauce but I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this in my crock pot and it turned out amazing! I had five apples that were going bad so I decided to test this recipe. I peeled and cut the apples and tossed them in the water in the slow cooker. I added the sugar and cinnamon on top of the apples. I set my slow cooker on low for 4 hours and when I came home from work I mashed the apples with a fork and turned the cooker on high. I continued to mash periodically for a couple more hours and once it was the thickness I liked I unplugged the cooker and let it sit for about an hour before canning. I didn't adjust the sugar or spice amount to account for the extra apple and it still turned out perfect. I filled one 12oz jar and had some left over (which I ate as soon as it was chilled). My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kownz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
can we say amazing i modified: gala apples, 1/8c homemade chai mix and 1/4 c raw aguave. everyone was IN LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States